Research Guides: Electronic Book Collections: Government, Law, & Politics

Selected E-Book Collections

American State Papers, 1739-1838 This link opens in a new window
Historical legislative and executive documents of Congress. (Coverage: 1789-1838)
China: Trade, Politics and Culture This link opens in a new window
Over 200 years of Chinese history, charting the monumental social and political upheaval that recreated China as a modern power. Documents encompass events from the earliest English embassy to the birth and early years of the People’s Republic. (Coverage: 1793 - 1980)
Also included are over 400 color paintings, maps, and drawings by English and Chinese artists, as well as many photographs, sketches, and ephemeral items depicting Chinese people, places, customs, and events.
Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Each section of CIAO is updated with new material regularly.
CIAO is divided into the following categories: working papers, conference proceedings, journals (i.e., abstracts of journal articles), books, policy briefs, economic indicators, links and resources, schedule of events, and maps and country data.
EBSCO eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subjects. Titles are from a variety of publishers.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with tools to find, use, and manage the information.
Making of the Modern World This link opens in a new window
Books, serials, political pamphlets, broadsides, government publications, proclamations and ephemera focusing on economics, political science, history, sociology, banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing. Includes many rare titles and 1st editions in languages other than English. (Coverage: 1450-1945)
This collection can also be searched on Gale Primary Sources, an integrated platform that combines Gales digital archives into a single cross-searchable interface.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Country studies, forecasting publications, periodicals, socio-economic reports as well as podcasts from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Topics covered include agriculture, developing economies, education, employment, energy, the environment, migration, social issues, and sustainable development.
OverDrive eBooks and Audiobooks This link opens in a new window
A curated leisure reading collection of new and popular e-books and audiobooks. Your first step is to download the Libby app to your device. The Library's OverDrive Collection can be searched or browsed by logging into the app or searching DELCAT.
Note: The OverDrive app was discontinued and replaced with Libby in May 2023.
Learn more about downloading and using Libby.
Springer E-Books This link opens in a new window
An integrated platform for books, journals, and other materials published by Springer, a major publisher of science and social sciences books and journals. The UD Library has acquired Springer eBooks in most subject areas. (Coverage: 2005 --)
U.S. Congressional Serial Set This link opens in a new window
House and Senate Documents and Reports, constituting a rich set of primary source documents. Covers a variety of topics and may include reports of executive departments and independent organizations, reports of special investigations, etc. (Coverage: 1817-1994)
The U.S. Congressional Serial Set is bound by session of Congress. It began publication with the 15th Congress, 1st Session (1817). Documents before 1817 are found in the American State Papers, which can be accessed via the A-Z Databases page. The Serial Set does not include Congressional hearings and debates.
House and Senate Reports are usually from congressional committees dealing with proposed legislation and issues under investigation. They include all other papers ordered printed by the House or Senate. Documents cover a wide variety of topics and may include reports of executive departments and independent organizations, reports of special investigations made for Congress, and annual reports of non-governmental organizations. During the late 19th and early 20th centuries, Executive branch materials were also published in the Serial Set.
After 1994, GPO and the Library of Congress provide digital access to most of the continuing Serial Set materials.
It is possible to search the U.S. Congressional Serial Set Maps directly.
This collection can also be searched on Readex AllSearch, an integrated platform that combines Readex’s primary sources into a single cross-searchable interface.

Open Access Collections

Open Access refers to resources that are freely available for viewing and/or use. Open Access is not the same as Public Domain, and most Open Access creators do retain their copyrights.

From Off Campus

Most Library online resources can be accessed from off campus by current UD faculty, staff, and students. When using links on these pages, you may be prompted for your UDelNetID and password. Please report any issues you encounter while accessing Library databases, e-journals, or e-books.