Research Guides: Electronic Book Collections: Social Sciences

Selected E-Book Collections

American County Histories to 1900 This link opens in a new window
Histories of cities and counties of the original thirteen states (with the exception of Virginia), plus Vermont and Maine. The collection includes more than 2,700 large volumes that have been manually rekeyed. It provides vivid portraits of people, places, and events—not just national figures, but local figures, demographics, social, economic, and cultural transformations.
Provides local and regional perspectives on many of the topics and issues of the day:
- Westward Movement
- Native Americans
- Indian Depredations
- Colonial Exploitation
- Wars
- Slavery and Abolition
- Suffrage
- Labor Unions and Disturbances
- The Underground Railroad
- Industrial Revolution
- Fur Trade
- Temperance
Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
Integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. Includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, an extensive E-Book collection, a large image bank, extra reference resources, and more.
Students and scholars in disciplines as diverse as anthropology, art history, history, sociology, geography, folklore, museum studies, theatre, and cultural studies as well as fashion and textiles will find insights into people and cultures all over the world.
Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Each section of CIAO is updated with new material regularly.
CIAO is divided into the following categories: working papers, conference proceedings, journals (i.e., abstracts of journal articles), books, policy briefs, economic indicators, links and resources, schedule of events, and maps and country data.
EBSCO eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subjects. Titles are from a variety of publishers.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with tools to find, use, and manage the information.
Making of the Modern World This link opens in a new window
Books, serials, political pamphlets, broadsides, government publications, proclamations and ephemera focusing on economics, political science, history, sociology, banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing. Includes many rare titles and 1st editions in languages other than English. (Coverage: 1450-1945)
This collection can also be searched on Gale Primary Sources, an integrated platform that combines Gales digital archives into a single cross-searchable interface.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Country studies, forecasting publications, periodicals, socio-economic reports as well as podcasts from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Topics covered include agriculture, developing economies, education, employment, energy, the environment, migration, social issues, and sustainable development.
OverDrive eBooks and Audiobooks This link opens in a new window
A curated leisure reading collection of new and popular e-books and audiobooks. Your first step is to download the Libby app to your device. The Library's OverDrive Collection can be searched or browsed by logging into the app or searching DELCAT.
Note: The OverDrive app was discontinued and replaced with Libby in May 2023.
Learn more about downloading and using Libby.
Springer E-Books This link opens in a new window
An integrated platform for books, journals, and other materials published by Springer, a major publisher of science and social sciences books and journals. The UD Library has acquired Springer eBooks in most subject areas. (Coverage: 2005 --)

Open Access Collections

Open Access refers to resources that are freely available for viewing and/or use. Open Access is not the same as Public Domain, and most Open Access creators do retain their copyrights.

From Off Campus

Most Library online resources can be accessed from off campus by current UD faculty, staff, and students. When using links on these pages, you may be prompted for your UDelNetID and password. Please report any issues you encounter while accessing Library databases, e-journals, or e-books.