Open Access Databases
The databases, repositories, and publishers listed below offer anyone full or partial open access to content. You do not have to be a University of Delaware student, faculty, or staff member to access these resources, but the library does provide informational pages before connecting to these resources.
- ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new windowArchiveGrid includes over seven million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more.
- Catalog of U.S. Government Publications This link opens in a new windowIndex to United States government publications cataloged by the Government Printing Office. Includes links to Web-accessible U.S. government publications. The catalog offers a feature called “Locate in a Library” that allows you to find which Federal depository library has a particular publication.
- ChemSpider This link opens in a new windowChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 100 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
- Chronicling America This link opens in a new windowA website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages.
- Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new windowThe Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) is an open access collection of more than 29 million images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States.
- English Short Title Catalogue This link opens in a new windowESTC contains descriptions of English or English-language letterpress materials published before 1801.
- Google Books This link opens in a new windowGoogle Books contains digitized books from around the world. If you find a book that is still under copyright, you will only be able to access a portion of the book, plus links to places where you can buy or borrow it. If you find a book that is out of copyright and in the public domain, you will be able to access its full content.
- GovInfo This link opens in a new windowGovInfo provides free fulltext collections of some of the most frequently used government information sources. The collections include the final published versions of official Federal publications from all three branches of government: executive, legislative, and judicial.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowHathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
- Internet Archive This link opens in a new windowThe Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 33 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Additional Open Access Databases
The databases, repositories, and publishers listed below offer anyone full or partial open access to content. You do not have to be a University of Delaware student, faculty, or staff member to access these resources.
- arXiv.orgA free distribution service and an open-access archive for articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.
- BioMed CentralA scientific open access publisher that produces peer-reviewed scientific journals.
- CoreCORE is the world’s largest aggregator of open access research papers from repositories and journals. It is a not-for-profit service dedicated to the open access mission that harvests research papers from institutional and subject repositories, and open access and hybrid journals.
- Multidisciplinary Digital Publishing Institute (MDPI)A publisher of peer-reviewed, open access journals based in Basel, Switzerland, that publishes over 85 journals in many disciplines.
- NSF Public Access Repository (NSF-PAR)The NSF-PAR is a repository provided by the National Science Foundation in partnership with the Department of Energy, Office of Scientific and Technical Information, that helps the public find and use NSF-funded articles, papers, and datasets.
- Open Access ButtonA browser extension that allows users to find open access versions of scholarly articles.
- Open Access Theses and DissertationsAn index of over 3.5 million electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs).
- OpenAIREEuropean Open Science Infrastructure is one of the largest open scholarly record collections worldwide, aggregating millions of full-texts of Open Access publications.
- OpenAlexAn open index of scholarly articles, authors, institutions, and more, designed to facilitate research and discovery.
- PaperityA multi-disciplinary aggregator of Open Access journals and papers, "gold" and "hybrid".
- Public Library of Science (PLOS)An open access science, technology and medicine publisher.
Google Scholar
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a search engine specifically for scholarly journal articles, books, dissertations, and technical reports. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the Web.