Open Access Resources
Open access is the term used for when digital material is freely available online for people to read, use, copy, and distribute with limited copyright and licensing. In this section of the research guide, you will find information on where to find resources that are available through open access.
For information on where to find open access resources like:
use the side menu navigation or links above to navigate to specific open access resource pages.
On the current page, you will see information on where to find open access resources like:
- Newspapers
- Patents
- Data sets
- Browser extensions that help find open access materials
"Nice! Open Access button from @OSUValleyLib arrived today. Wearing with pride." by esquetee is licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0
Browser Extensions
- Open Access ButtonA browser extension that allows users to find open access versions of scholarly articles.
- UnpaywallUnpaywall harvests materials from open access journals and repositories so users can easily find open access articles.
Newspapers
- Chronicling AmericaA website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages.
- Elephind.comA large database of digitized historic newspaper collections from around the world.
- EuropeanaA collection of the headlines, articles, advertisements, and opinion pieces from European newspapers from 20 countries, dating from 1618 to the 1980s.
- Google Newspaper ArchiveHundreds of digitized historical newspapers digitized by the since discontinued Google newspaper archive project. While the project has stopped adding new content, the existing newspaper are still available.
Data Sets and Data Repositories
- Data.govA collection of the U.S. Government's open data
- Dryad Digital RepositoryThe Dryad Digital Repository is a curated resource that makes research data discoverable, freely reusable, and citable. Dryad provides a general-purpose home for a wide diversity of data types.
- FigshareA repository where users can make all of their research outputs available in a citable, shareable and discoverable manner.
- Google Dataset SearchA Google search engine for datasets.
- Google Public Data ExplorerFree large data sets that are easy to explore, visualize and communicate.
- Harvard Dataverse RepositoryA free data repository open to all researchers from any discipline, both inside and outside of the Harvard community, where you can share, archive, cite, access, and explore research data.
- KaggleKaggle is a subsidiary of Google where users can find and publish data sets.
- OpenAlexAn open index of scholarly articles, authors, institutions, and more, designed to facilitate research and discovery.
- Open Science Framework (OSF)An open source project management platform that many researchers use as a long-term data repository.
- ResearchDataGovWhile not open access, ResearchDataGov does make it easier to access protected data sets. ResearchDataGov is a web portal for discovering and requesting access to restricted microdata from federal statistical agencies.
- ZenodoA multi-disciplinary open repository maintained by CERN, the European Organization for Nuclear Research.
Patents
- FreePatentsOnline (FPO)Free patent searching database for patents and patent applications.
- Google PatentsSearch and read the full text of patents from around the world.
- The LensFree, open access resource for global patent search and analysis.
- United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)The official website provides access to full text and PDF image of U.S. patents and patent applications.