African American Studies

Covers a wide array of humanities-related disciplines including art, cultural criticism, economics, education, health, history, language and literature, law, philosophy, politics, religion, and sociology.
Can also be searched as part of Black Studies Center.

Includes pamphlets, periodicals, correspondence, official records and in-depth oral histories.

A component of Accessible Archives.
Access to Anatomy of Protest made possible by a grant from the Unidel Fund.

Part of the World Newspaper Archive, which can be found on the A-Z Databases page. 

This collection can also be searched on Readex AllSearch, an integrated platform that combines Readex’s primary sources into a single cross-searchable interface.

 Access to Black Life in America made possible by a grant from the Unidel Fund.

Black Thought and Culture is made available through a grant from the Unidel Foundation.

The database also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals. 
 

Ethnic NewsWatch™ comprehensively covers these ethnic categories:

• African American/Caribbean/African
• Arab/Middle Eastern
• Asian/Pacific Islander
• European/Eastern European
• Hispanic
• Jewish
• Native People
  
  
   

This collection can also be searched on Gale Primary Sources, an integrated platform that combines Gales digital archives into a single cross-searchable interface.

The site works best in modern browsers like Chrome, Safari, Edge, and Firefox. It will not work in Internet Explorer.

History Vault is comprised of many American history primary source collections. The UD Library focuses on providing access to those modules related to African American history:

• The Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers
• The Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records
• NAACP Papers
• Slavery and the Law
• Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantation Records, Parts 1-2

(Purchase of the NAACP Papers, Plantation Papers, and Slavery and the Law was made possible through a grant from the Unidel Foundation.)

Titles included:

• The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988)
  The most widely circulated black newspaper on the Atlantic coast. It was the first Black newspaper to have correspondents reporting on World War II, foreign correspondents, and female sports correspondents.
• Chicago Defender (1910-2010)
  A leading African-American newspaper, with more than two-thirds of its readership outside Chicago.
• Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)
  The oldest and largest Black newspaper in the western United States and the largest African American owned newspaper in the U.S.
• New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
  The leading Black newspaper of the 20th century reached its peak in the 1940s. The Amsterdam News was a strong advocate for the desegregation of the U.S. military during World War II, and also covered the historically important Harlem Renaissance.
• Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003)
  As a southern black newspaper, the Norfolk Journal and Guide did not have the same freedoms as northern black newspapers and thus did not aggressively or openly denounce social and racial injustices. Because of its more moderate position the Guide was able to procure advertisements from nationally owned white businesses. It was also the only black newspaper that provided on-the-scene, day-to-day coverage of the Scottsboro trial in the 1930s.
• The Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001)
  The oldest continuously published Black newspaper, is dedicated to the needs and concerns of the fourth largest black community in the U.S. During the 1930s the paper supported the growth of the United Way, rallied against the riots in Chester, PA, and continuously fought against segregation.
• Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010)
  One of the most nationally circulated Black newspapers, the Pittsburgh Courier reached its peak in the 1930s. A conservative voice in the African-American community, the Pittsburgh Courier challenged the misrepresentation of African Americans in the national media and advocated social reforms to advance the cause of civil rights.

• Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition
• Part II: The Slave Trade in the Atlantic World
• Part III: The Institution of Slavery
• Part IV: The Age of Emancipation

This collection can also be searched on Gale Primary Sources, an integrated platform that combines Gales digital archives into a single cross-searchable interface.

Umbra Search is also a widget that can be embedded in any digital environment, allowing users to access Umbra Search from other sites. Widget instructions can be found on the Umbra Search website.

Provides indexing of academic journals dating back to 1954, with some coverage for titles back to the early 20th century.

Subjects include art history and criticism, architecture and architectural history, archaeology, antiques, museum studies, graphic arts, industrial design, landscape architecture, interior design, folk art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, decorative arts, costume design, television and video, motion pictures, advertising art, non-western art, textiles, and related fields.

Includes more than 10,000 pages of works written in languages such as Papiamento, French Creole, Jamaican Creole, Belizean Kriol, Singlish, and Sranam Tongo.Translations of major works, dictionaries, and reference materials are included.  

The acquisition of this database was made possible through the support of the Unidel Foundation.

Contains a significant body of archival material dating back to the mid-1970s. Additional archival material continues to be added.

Excellent source of information on management theories, business law, key industries, mergers, acquisitions and joint ventures, international trade, new technologies, small and emerging companies, marketing and advertising, job-hunting strategies, and banking.

Provides a detailed listing of recording sessions, each with specific information:

Leader name (or Group name)
Published album title
Group name
Musicians, with instrument(s) played
Location and date of recording session
Tune names, including “matrix” and release numbers for 78 and 45 rpm, LPs, CDs and DLs (Internet downloads)
 

Literature Online Complete provides access to:

English poetry from 600 to the present
American and African-American poetry from 1603 to the present
The Faber Poetry Library
English drama (including Shakespeare) from 1280 to 1915
English prose from 1500 to 1900

Includes access to the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) with associated full-text, major literary reference works, and websites selected for their relevance to literary studies.

Can be searched in conjunction with the MLA Directory of Periodicals, which contains all information available on journals and series on the Bibliographys Master List. The Directory of Periodicals is included in the Bibliography.

Can also be searched as part Social Services Abstracts.

Provides indexing and abstracts for essential sources including: journals, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, reports, theses, dissertations, and grey literature.