Books on Hip Hop
The come up: an oral history of the rise of hip-hop by Publication Date: 2022
Her Word Is Bond Navigating Hip Hop and Relationships in a Culture of Misogyny by Call Number: ML420.P9765 A3 2022Publication Date: 2022
Women Rapping Revolution by
Detroit, MIchigan, has long been recognized as a center of musical innovation and social change. Rebekah Farrugia and Kellie D. Hay draw on seven years of fieldwork to illuminate the important role that women have played in mobilizing a grassroots response to political and social pressures at the heart of Detroit's ongoing renewal and development project. Focusing on the Foundation, a women-centered hip hop collective, Women Rapping Revolution argues that the hip hop underground is a crucial site where Black women shape subjectivity and claim self-care as a principle of community organizing. Through interviews and sustained critical engagement with artists and activists, this study also articulates the substantial role of cultural production in social, racial, and economic justice efforts.
Publication Date: 2020
Manifest Technique by
An obscured vanguard in hip hop Filipino Americans have been innovators and collaborators in hip hop since the culture's early days. But despite the success of artists like Apl.de.Ap of the Black Eyed Peas and superstar producer Chad Hugo, the genre's significance in Filipino American communities is often overlooked. Mark R. Villegas considers sprawling coast-to-coast hip hop networks to reveal how Filipino Americans have used music, dance, and visual art to create their worlds. Filipino Americans have been exploring their racial position in the world in embracing hip hop's connections to memories of colonial and racial violence. Villegas scrutinizes practitioners' language of defiance, placing the cultural grammar of hip hop within a larger legacy of decolonization. An important investigation of hip hop as a movement of racial consciousness, Manifest Technique shows how the genre has inspired Filipino Americans to envision and enact new ideas of their bodies, their history, and their dignity.
Publication Date: 2021
Communicating Hip-Hop by
This insightful analysis of the broad impact of hip-hop on popular culture examines the circulation of hip-hop through media, academia, business, law, and consumer culture to explain how hip-hop influences thought and action through our societal institutions. How has hip-hop influenced our culture beyond the most obvious ways (music and fashion)? Examples of the substantial power of hip-hop culture include influence on consumer buying habits--for example, Dr. Dre's Beats headphones; politics, seen in Barack Obama's election as the first "hip-hop president" and increased black political participation; and social movements such as various stop-the-violence movements and mobilization against police brutality and racism. In Communicating Hip-Hop: How Hip-Hop Culture Shapes Popular Culture, author Nick Sciullo considers hip-hop's role in shaping a number of different aspects of modern culture ranging from law to communication and from business to English studies. Each chapter takes the reader on a behind-the-scenes tour of hip-hop's importance in various areas of culture with references to leading literature and music. Intended for scholars and students of hip-hop, race, music, and communication as well as a general audience, this appealing, accessible book will enable readers to understand why hip-hop is so important and see why hip-hop has such far-reaching influence. Considers hip-hop across aspects of culture, recognizing hip-hop's pervasive influence on not only clothing styles, music, and brand consumption but also social movements, political activity, legal thought, and artistry Presents evidence of how U.S. culture is strongly influenced by the main elements of hip-hop culture--emceeing, DJing, break dancing, and graffiti Argues that hip-hop should be recognized both as an object of study and approach to studying popular culture Supplies academically rigorous information and perspectives but is written for an educated general readership
Call Number: ML3918.R37 S3 2019Publication Date: 2018
The Globally Familiar by
In The Globally Familiar Ethiraj Gabriel Dattatreyan traces how the rapid development of information and communication technologies in India has created opportunities for young people to creatively explore their gendered, classed, and racialized subjectivities in and through transnational media worlds. His ethnography focuses on a group of diverse young, working-class men in Delhi as they take up the African diasporic aesthetics and creative practices of hip hop. Dattatreyan shows how these aspiring b-boys, MCs, and graffiti writers fashion themselves and their city through their online and offline experimentations with hip hop, thereby accessing new social, economic, and political opportunities while acting as consumers, producers, and influencers in global circuits of capitalism. In so doing, Dattatreyan outlines how the hopeful, creative, and vitally embodied practices of hip hop offer an alternative narrative of urban place-making in "digital" India.
Publication Date: 2020
Freedom Moves by
This expansive collection sets the stage for the next generation of hip hop scholarship as we approach the fiftieth anniversary of the movement's origins. Freedom Moves travels across generations and beyond borders to understand hip hop's transformative power as one of the most important cultural movements of our times. This book gathers critically acclaimed scholars, artists, activists, and youth organizers in a wide-ranging exploration of hip hop as a musical movement, a powerful catalyst for activism, and a culture that offers us new ways of thinking and doing freedom. Rooting hip hop in Black freedom culture, this state-of-the-art collection presents a globally diverse group of Black, Indigenous, Latinx, Asian American, Arab, European, North African, and South Asian artists, activists, and thinkers. The "knowledges" cultivated by hip hop and spoken word communities represent emerging ways of being in the world. Freedom Moves examines how educators, students, and activists use these knowledges to inform and expand how we understand our communities, our histories, and our futures.
ISBN: 9780520382817Publication Date: 2023
Sampling, biting, and the postmodern subversion of hip hop by ISBN: 9783030749033Publication Date: 2021
Search DELCAT Discovery for Hip Hop Research
Databases for Hip Hop Research
- Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Biographical information. - America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
History journal articles. - Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biographical information. - General OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Good for articles from popular magazines. - Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles.
These sources can be used to identify books, newspaper and journal articles, and encyclopedia information.
Newspaper and Magazine Databases
RESEARCH TIPS:
- These newspaper packages are the best sources for news from the 1980s to present. The titles within the packages vary, so it's best to search each one.
- When searching newspapers, be as specific as you can. Unique names such as "Tupac Shakur" will be easier to find than names that consist of common words such as "Game." If your artist has a common name, try adding into your search other words that are likely to show up when discussing your artist. Those words might pertain to their recording label, studio, or their birth name. Sample searches include:
- game AND "aftermath entertainment"
- game AND geffen
- "Jayceon Terrell Taylor"
- Think like a journalist, not a scholar. Be sure to search using language and terms from the time period studied. As you find useful articles, take note of the language and try searching those new terms.
- If you get too many articles, try looking for your words in the article's title or try searching a shorter, more specific time period.
- Sometimes Black newspapers will provide more detailed information on young artists at the beginning of their career. Ethnic NewsWatch and ProQuest Historical: Black Newspapers have good coverage of Black newspapers.
- Ask for help using the Ask the Library chat service, or send me an email.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowFull-text newspapers, magazines& journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. (Coverage: 1959 --) Learn more about this database.
- Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowRecent global news content, as well as archives. Content from newspapers, newswires & news sites in full-text format. Provides large collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America & Australia.
(Coverage: 1980 --) - Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing & abstracts for over 400 international music periodicals, plus full-text for over 200 journals. Scholarly & popular music journals included. (Coverage: c. 1996 - present. Retrospective indexing back to 1874.) - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times This link opens in a new windowFull pages & article images with searchable full-text back to the first issue.
(Coverage: 1851-4 years ago) Learn more about this database. - Newspapers.com World Collection (Library Edition) This link opens in a new windowOver 3,000 regional and local newspapers in the U.S. and other countries. (Coverage: early 1700s - early 2000s)
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text information from news, business, & legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Though not required, you have the option to create a personal account that will give you access to special features such as alerts, saved searches, folders, history, annotations & more.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Primary source content essential to the study of American history & African-American culture, history, politics, & the arts. Each newspaper provides access to perspectives & information that was excluded or marginalized in mainstream sources. (Coverage: late-19th to mid-21st centuries)
Internet Resources for Hip Hop Research
The Internet has many useful web sites that can provide biographical information, discographies and general information regarding hip hop artists. Here are a few sites for starting your Internet search:
- AllHipHop.comNews and rumor from the hip-hop community.
- BasementApprovedThe Basement is now a platform engaging and empowering young people across a broad range of topics, from fashion and music through to art, politics, travel and more.
- Black GroovesA music review site hosted by the Archives of African American Music & Culture (AAAMC) at Indiana University.
- Cornell University Hip Hop CollectionCornell University Library has a significant archive on the history of hip hop, documenting its emergence in the Bronx in the 1970s and early 1980s. Includes posters, photos, conference videos and more.
- Google BooksUse to access back issues of Ebony, Jet, Vibe and Vibe Vixen.
- Google VideosThis search engine retrieves videos from YouTube and other video sites on the Internet.
- The Hiphop Archive and Research Institute (HARI)HARI seeks includes online exhibitions with lyric analysis, music reviews, conference news and a searchable bibliography of books, videos and other research materials.
- The SourceFrom the producers of the Source magazine, the site provides feature articles, photos, audio, videos and a blog. Additional articles that were published in the print version of the magazine may be obtained through the Morris Library InterLibrary Loan service. Print articles are indexed in the Music Periodicals Database.
- Urban DictionaryA site that permits users to submit definitions for contemporary slang words. Unlike more conventional dictionaries, this user-edited site presents varying, and sometimes contradictory, definitions.
- VibeThe site provides news, videos and music relating to hip-hop, rhythm and blues, and other music genres. Back issues may be found online as part of Google Books and some back issues of the magazine are in Morris Library (ML 3469 .V46). The articles are indexed in the Music Periodicals Database.
- WikipediaAn online encyclopedia that anyone can edit. Although this site is very comprehensive and includes entries on lesser-known figures, its informational content should be checked against other sources.
- XXLThis magazine's searchable site provides access to some of the articles that have appeared in print, as well as online stories and commentary from readers. The site also has select audio clips.
Library of Congress Headings
Try searching DELCAT Discovery by using subject headings that refer to careers/subject areas. For assistance in selecting headings refer to the Library of Congress Subject Headings or Ask a Librarian. Below is a sample list of subject headings:
African American men
African American musicians
African American women--Biography
African American youth--Songs and music
African Americans--Biography
African Americans--Civil rights
African Americans--Languages
African Americans--Music
African Americans--Politics and suffrage
African Americans--Race identity
African Americans--Social conditions
Black English--United States
Black nationalism--United States
Break dancing
Hip-hop
Inner cities--United States
Jazz music
Jazz musicians
Music--social aspects
Music and race
Music and teenagers
Oral interpretation of poetry
Popular culture--United States
Popular music--United States
Race relations
Rap (music)
Rap musicians
Rhythm and blues music
Rhythm and blues musicians
Sound poetry
Sound recording industry
Street art
United States--Race relations
Violence in music
Whites