Research Guides: African American Studies: Favorite Websites

Primary Sources

Umbra Search African American History
Historical images, videos, books and more drawn from libraries, archives and museums throughout the U.S.
Digital Collections - African American History | Library of Congress
Includes early printed pamphlets and books by African American authors, documents on Slavery and the Courts, audio interviews of former slaves, and papers of Frederick Douglass and Zora Neale Hurston.
Digital Schomburg | The New York Public Library
Includes online exhibitions using images, full-length books and articles, manuscripts, and maps. Exhibitions focus on special themes such as Abolition of the Slave Trade, the African American Migration Experience and African American Women Writers of the 19th Century.
African-American Studies Research Guide:Open Access | Columbia University Libraries
The Columbia University Libraries guide describes freely-available web collections related to African American studies.
Black Women's Suffrage
The materials in this collection include photographs, correspondence, speeches, event programs, publications, oral histories, and other artifacts.
The content featured in this collection explores linkages between women’s suffrage and other social causes of the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries (anti-slavery, anti-lynching, education reform and civil rights) as well as racism within the Suffrage Movement.
more...less...
The Black Women’s Suffrage Digital Collection is a collaborative project to provide digital access to materials documenting the roles and experiences of Black Women in the Women’s Suffrage Movement and, more broadly, women’s rights, voting rights, and civic activism between the 1850s and 1960.
SlaveVoyages: Website & Slave Trade Databases
A collaborative digital initiative that compiles and makes publicly accessible records of the largest slave trades in history. Features the Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade, Intra-American Slave Trade, and People of the Atlantic Slave Trade databases. Also includes statistical data, timelines and chronologies, lesson plans, image galleries, blog, and other educational resources on the slave trade.
Documenting the American South | University of North Carolina Library
This collection of documentary sources on the American South includes components on “North American Slave Narratives” and “The Church in the Southern Black Community.”
Samuel J. May Anti-Slavery Collection | Cornell University Library
More than 10,000 titles pamphlets and leaflets that document the anti-slavery movement at local, regional, and national levels.
Selected Online Works by Civil War Era African American Women | Library of Congress
Includes biographies, novels, poetry and essays written by women. Also includes biographies of men written by women.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
Digital sources, both primary and secondary, from libraries, archives, and museums.
Internet Archive
Online library of texts, images and more.

Select Digital Humanities Projects

The Blackivists
A collective of trained Black archivists who prioritize Black cultural heritage preservation and memory work, centering Black Chicago.
BlackPast.org
Online reference center
Colored Conventions: Bringing Nineteenth-Century Black Organizing to Digital Life
Digitized minutes and related documents of the nation's first Black convention movement that began in 1830.

Select Blogs and Discussion Lists

Black Perspectives
Blog sponsored by the African American Intellectual History Society.
H-Afro-Am Discussion Network
A list for professionals, faculty and advanced students in the field of African American Studies.
NewBlackMan (in Exile)
Digital home for Mark Anthony Neal