Research Guides: African American Studies: African American Literature

Databases for African American Literary Research

The following reference sources will help you begin your research on literary topics.

DELCAT Discovery This link opens in a new window
Use to find literary texts and creative works as well as literary criticism and biographical information.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary index for finding literary criticism.
Can be searched in conjunction with the MLA Directory of Periodicals, which contains all information available on journals and series on the Bibliographys Master List. The Directory of Periodicals is included in the Bibliography.
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Contains articles that provide biographical information or literary analysis.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Especially good for biographical information, plot summaries and literary criticism.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Good for biographical information and literary criticism.
Literature Online Complete This link opens in a new window
Especially useful for literary texts and creative works. Includes the African American Poetry database.
Literature Online Complete provides access to:

English poetry from 600 to the present
American and African-American poetry from 1603 to the present
The Faber Poetry Library
English drama (including Shakespeare) from 1280 to 1915
English prose from 1500 to 1900

Includes access to the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) with associated full-text, major literary reference works, and websites selected for their relevance to literary studies.

Periodical and Newspaper Indexes

The following indexes may be used to identify newspapers articles pertaining to African American literature:

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
1959-present.
The database also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals.

Ethnic NewsWatch™ comprehensively covers these ethnic categories:
- African American/Caribbean/African
- Arab/Middle Eastern
- Asian/Pacific Islander
- European/Eastern European
- Hispanic
- Jewish
- Native People
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
ca.1980s-present
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
ca. 1980s-present.
Vendor Lyrasis. Publisher LexisNexis.

Other Databases for African American Biographical Research

Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Biographical information on historically significant figures and present-day newsmakers from around the world and across all disciplines and subject areas.
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains biographies, obituaries, and photographs. Many of the biographies are enhanced with full text, abstracts, and citations. Biographical subjects represent all fields and nationalities. (Coverage: antiquity --)
Black Drama (2nd edition) This link opens in a new window
Approximately 1,462 plays by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Some 600 of the plays are published here for the first time, including a number by major authors. (Coverage: mid-1800s --)