Featured Resource
Poll Data
- Association of Religion Data Archives | ARDAIncludes historic and contemporary statistics and data on religious congregations within the U.S. and abroad. Also includes poll data on attitudes towards social issues such as abortion, pre-marital sexuality and same-sex marriage.
- Roper iPOLL This link opens in a new windowPublic opinion data from The Roper Center, the largest archives of public opinion information.
Statistical Databases
- Explore Census DataFor data from the Census 2010 and Census 2000, and more recent surveys.
- ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new windowSearch by topic then add filters for data breakdowns "by sex" and "by race."
- Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new windowThis site serves as a prime source for U.S. industrial, social, political, and economic statistics.
- USA.gov - Data and StatisticsStatistics from various federal agencies.
- Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new windowCovers 17th to 21st centuries, depending upon topic. Expands and revises information provided in U.S. Census Bureau edition of this work. Use to create customized tables, graphs and spreadsheets that are downloadable in Excel or CSV.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowA data and mapping platform that provides access to indicators related to income/spending, housing, quality of life, economy, education, health, crime, education and more.
Criminal Justice Data
- Delaware Statistical Analysis CenterResearch analysis, and projections relating to criminal justice issues.
- Crime Data Explorer | Federal Bureau of InvestigationGraphical presentation of data from the FBI's Uniform Crime Reporting program.
- Sourcebook of Criminal Justice StatisticsStatistics collected before 2013.
Education Statistics
- Delaware Educational Statistics ReportsSummarized educational statistics for Delaware school districts from 1994-2019.
- National Center for Education StatisticsNCES provides access to data from numerous surveys and studies and produces several valuable annual reports on education statistics in the United States. This is an excellent resource for discovering demographic statistics on specific schools or regions, school violence statistics, high school retention rates, and statistical projections regarding the state of education in the US.
- Digest of Education StatisticsThe Digest of Education Statistics is a compilation of statistics regarding all levels of American education. This site contains the full digest for the years 1990 to the present. Older versions of the Digest of Education Statistics are available in print at the library. Consult the library catalog for details regarding location and the editions held within the collection.
Selected Books Containing Historical Statistics
The social and economic status of the Black population in the United States : an historical view, 1790-1978 by Call Number: Morris Library | Reference E 185.8 .U65x 1979Also available in Google Books.
Historical statistics of Black America by Call Number: Morris Library | Reference E185 .H543 1995- Historical corrections statistics in the United States, 1850-1984 byPublication Date: 1987
Prisoners, 1923 : crime conditions in the United States as reflected in census statistics of imprisoned offenders by Publication Date: 1926Includes comparison rates of incarceration for 1910 and 1923, broken down by race and gender.- Prisoners and juvenile delinquents in the United States 1910. by Publication Date: 1918Statistics on offenses and incarceration, broken down by age, race and gender.
- Race traits and tendencies of the American Negro byPublication Date: 1896Includes a section on criminal statistics drawn from 1890 federal census and state and municipal sources. See p. 217 and following.
- Compendium of the eleventh census, 1890 byPublication Date: 1892-1897.Includes chapter on crime, broken down by race.
- Compendium of the tenth census [1880] byPublication Date: 1883Includes statistics, broken down by race, on reformatories, workhouses and correctional institutions. Recent scholars have deemed these statistics to be unreliable.
- A compendium of the ninth census (June 1, 1870) byPublication Date: 1872Includes population and criminal statistics that are broken down by race, however, recent scholars have deemed these statistics to be unreliable.
