Collections by Subject Areas
- Patai's Chemistry of Functional Groups This link opens in a new window Including content from the landmark book series, concentrates on important recent developments in functional group chemistry not widely covered by reviewers or other secondary sources. Serves as an excellent reference for advanced postgraduates, researchers and academics in all branches of organic chemistry.
- ACS Symposium Series These peer-reviewed books were developed from the ACS technical divisions' symposia. The series covers a broad range of topics including agricultural and food chemistry, cellulose and renewable materials, chemical education, organic chemistry, polymer chemistry, materials, and many others.
- Chemistry and Chemical Engineering (Knovel) Covers chemical processes and product development, plant design and operation, analytical chemistry, catalysis, separation, and synthesis. Industrial safety and process refinement are highlights of the collection. Of use to chemists and materials scientists, chemical, petroleum, and process engineers working on applications as broad as food production, petrochemical processing and nanotechnology. Includes a collection of Knovel Equation Solver interactive equations.
- Biochemistry, Biology & Biotechnology - Knovel E-Books This subject area covers the structures, functions and interactions of cellular components (proteins, lipids, nucleic acids, etc.), the systems and mechanisms at work in biological and microbiological organisms, and the biotechnological methods and techniques developed to exploit these interactions and systems in the production of useful products and services
- Chemistry eBooks (SpringerLink) More than 2000 titles published between 2005 and 2018 are available. Use the filters in the left hand column to broaden or narrow the selection of titles.
- Knovel This link opens in a new window
An extensive online library of full-text content from leading publishers and societies. Covers engineering, chemistry, biochemistry, earth and environmental sciences, and more.
- Science of Synthesis This link opens in a new window
Provides a critical review of the synthetic methodology developed field of organic and organometallic chemistry. (Coverage: early 1800s --)
- Springer E-Books This link opens in a new window
An integrated platform for books, journals, and other materials published by Springer, a major publisher of science and social sciences books and journals. The UD Library has acquired Springer eBooks in most subject areas. (Coverage: 2005 --)
- eLS This link opens in a new window A monthly updated online reference work containing thousands of specially commissioned and peer-reviewed articles written by leaders in the field of Life Sciences.
Search by title keyword or subject categories at the Library's main E-Journals page. Most titles can be accessed from off campus by current UD faculty, staff, and students (you may be prompted for your UDelNet ID and password). Below are links to e-Journal collections by subject area.
If the Library does not have the issues you need in electronic format, search for the journal title in DELCAT to see if they are available in print. Use the call number provided to find the issues in the Library.
For Chemistry and Biochemistry
Society Publications
Resources to find the full title of an abbreviated journal title.
- CASSI Search Tool (Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index)
- See also Beyond CASSI
- All That JAS (Journal Abbreviation Sources)
- Genamics JournalSeek
- Science and Engineering Journal Abbreviations
- The site includes everything from astronomy to zoology, engineering and applied mathematics and statistics. There is less emphasis on medicine and medical related topics. Tip: Use periods as part of the abbreviation, e.g., Nat. Afr.
Created by Kevin Lindstrom, Librarian at the Woodward Library at The University of British Columbia (Canada)
- The site includes everything from astronomy to zoology, engineering and applied mathematics and statistics. There is less emphasis on medicine and medical related topics. Tip: Use periods as part of the abbreviation, e.g., Nat. Afr.
- LTWA (List of Title Word Abbreviations) - build your abbreviation from a list of standardized abbreviations
Books for Chemistry are assigned QD call numbers. Most of the books are in the Chemistry library, others are at the Morris Library (second floor). By following the alpha-numeric system of the Library of Congress Classification scheme (see outline), books on similar subjects are kept together on the shelves. The following list can help guide you to different topics.
QD1-999 Chemistry
Selected subclasses
| QD1-65 General, including alchemy. | QD71-142 Analytical chemistry | QD146-197 Inorganic chemistry | QD241-441 Organic chemistry | QD415-436 Biochemistry |
| QD450-801 Physical and theoretical chemistry | QD625-655 Radiation chemistry | QD701-731 Photochemistry | QD901-999 Crystallography |
See also
| QH345 General biochemistry of plants and animals | QK861+ Plant biochemistry | QP501+ Animal biochemistry | QP(901)+ Experimental pharmacology |
| QR148 Microbiological chemistry | RM301.25+ Research. Experimental pharmacology. Drug development. | TP Chemical technology. |
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE)
JoVE publishes the leading peer-reviewed, PubMed-indexed video methods journal. UD LIbrary subscribes to JoVE Biology, JoVE Chemistry among other JoVE sections.
- JoVE BiologyContent in this section covers all fields of cell, molecular, and organismal biology. This diverse section includes techniques in physical biology, development, physiology, systems biology and a combination of eukaryotic and prokaryotic model systems.
- JoVE ChemistryThis collection includes fundamental and applied research that investigates molecular interactions, properties, and structure spanning in the following core divisions: analytical, organic, organometallic, inorganic, and bioinorganic. This section also includes the design and preparation of materials and small molecules for advanced or unique applications.