Research Guides: Chemistry and Biochemistry: Website Resources

Reference Data

A Guide to the NIST Chemistry WebBook The NIST Chemistry WebBook provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program.
WebElements - Periodic Table of the Elements Essential data and description of the elements from Prof. Mark Winter of the University of Sheffield.
NIST Standard Reference Data | free databases A catalog of NIST’s free, web interface SRD databases
IUPAC Gold Book - Compendium of Chemical Terminology Collects together terminology definitions from IUPAC recommendations resulting in nearly 7000 terms, with authoritative definitions, spanning the whole range of chemistry.
ThermoDex (University of Texas Libraries) Contains annotated bibliographic records that describe compilations of thermodynamic and physical property data for chemical compounds and other substances. Most are printed books; a few are freely available Web-based databases.
BRENDA - Comprehensive Enzyme Information System Developed and maintained by the Institute of Biochemistry and Bioinformatics at the Technical University of Braunschweig, Germany, BRENDA is the most comprehensive information repository on enzymes and enzyme ligand data

Cheresources.com - ChE links ChE links for chemical and process engineering resources. Cheresources.com is an organization started in 1998 to promote collaboration among chemical engineers around the globe.
The PubChem Project
Chemical Information Sources (Wikibooks) Chemical Information Sources is designed to help people find and learn how to use chemical information resources on the Internet and elsewhere. This is an excellent place to look if you don't know what book or journal to look for.
The Chymistry of Isaac Newton
Digital project from the Indiana University on Newton's alchemical manuscripts from a rich and diverse set of document types, including laboratory notebooks, indices of alchemical substances.

Key Lessons for Preventing Incidents from Flammable Chemicals in Educational Demonstrations U.S. Chemical Safety Board - FINAL REPORT: Key Lessons for Preventing Incidents from Flammable Chemicals in Educational Demonstrations [Location: Reno, NV; Accident Occurred On: 09/03/2014; Study Released On: 10/30/2014; Accident Type: Community Impact]
Consumer Product Information Database
(Replaces the Household Products Database discontinued on NIH.)
Pistoia Alliance Chemical Safety Library (CSL)
A searchable repository of crowd-sourced chemical safety incident information on an open access platform developed and hosted by CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society
Safety links: Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS)
Material Data Safety Sheets (MSDS) have valuable information concerning
substances used in the workplace. This is a collection of useful MSDS-related links. (Compiled by James R. Macdonald Laboratory at Kansas State University)

American Chemical Society (ACS) ACS serves a large international membership, providing educational and career development programs, products, and services.
American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB) A nonprofit scientific and educational organization, their mission is to advance the science of biochemistry and molecular biology and to promote the understanding of the molecular nature of life processes.
AIChE AIChE content is geared toward chemical engineers, working across a wide-spectrum of specific fields.
Biochemical Society Promotes the future of molecular biosciences; facilitating the sharing of expertise, supporting the advancement of biochemistry and molecular biology, and raising awareness of their importance in addressing societal grand challenges.
National-Academies.org National Academy of Sciences National Academy of Engineering Institute of Medicine National Research Council
US Environmental Protection Agency
Occupational Safety and Health Administration