Chemistry Resources
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
To use SciFinder, you must register and provide your UD email.
Comprehensive database for chemical literature, indexing journal articles and patent records, and chemical substances and reactions. You can search by topic, author, and substances by name or CAS Registry Number, or use the editor to draw chemical structures, substructures, or reactions.
SciFinder Training Materials include videos and tutorials in the following areas:
- Structure Searching
- Reaction Searching
- Reference Searching
- Polymer Searching
- Patent Searching
- General Topics
- Reaxys This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A search and retrieval system for chemical compounds, bibliographic data, and chemical reactions. The content in Reaxys comes from The Beilstein Handbook, The Gmelin Handbook, Selected literature from 1772 to today, Organic chemistry and life science patents from the U.S. (since 1976), World and European patent publications (since 1978).
Visit the Reaxys Support Center
- Reaxys Quick Start Guide (updated Sept. 2021)This document is designed to help users navigate the interface and get started with searching, viewing and filtering results, and using alerts and other personalized features.
- Science of Synthesis This link opens in a new window
Provides a critical review of the synthetic methodology developed field of organic and organometallic chemistry. (Coverage: early 1800s --)
Science of Synthesis Training & Support site provides a Quick Start Guide and Video Tutorials.
Further information on SoS from Thieme Chemistry
Multidisciplinary databases
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that can be searched individually or in various combinations. WoS indexs the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, as published in journals, conference proceedings, symposia, seminars, colloquia, and workshops across the globe.
Training Resources include videos, documents, webinars, self-guided learning to help you make the most of Web of Science.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A citation and abstracting database covering thousands of active titles, primarily peer-reviewed journals. Also includes eBooks, major reference works and graduate level textbooks. Emphasis on social sciences, arts and humanities, but also includes science, technology and medicine. Includes thousands of Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series, and patents. (Coverage: Primarily 1970-present. Some pre-1970 records going back to 1788)
See the Scopus: Access and use Support Center > Training page for articles and tutorials.