Skip to Main Content

Chemistry and Biochemistry

SciFinder-n, a new generation of SciFinder

Produced by the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS), SciFinder is the most comprehensive database for the chemical literature, searchable by topic, author, substances by name or CAS Registry Number. You can also conduct searches by using the editor to draw chemical structures, substructures, or reactions. It is a core research tool for chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering, materials science, environmental science and other science and engineering disciplines. CAS SciFinder-n provides a new interface with many of the same search capabilities as SciFinder and integrated access to the following indexes.

  • Chemical Substances (CAS REGISTRY® and CAS Registry Numbers®) 
  • References (CAplus, MEDLINE, ChemZent)
  • Reactions (CASREACT®)
  • Chemical Suppliers (CHEMCATS)
  • Regulated Chemicals (CHEMLIST®)
  • Markush Representation in Patents (MARPAT®)
  • Formulations (CAS Formulus®)
  • Chemical Industry Notes (Trade Publications, CIN®)

Want to learn more? Visit CAS Content and SciFinder-n FAQ.
Read more about SciFinder-n at https://www.cas.org/products/scifinder.

CAS SciFinder-n provides new content and functionalities that can help enhance your search productivity. Enhancements include: 

  • Relevance scoring of reference results
  • Enhanced workflow tools (e.g., live search history, auto-suggested search queries, multi-tab browsing)
  • Experimental and predictive retrosynthetic analysis for known and novel substances
  • Biosequence searching (BLAST, CDR, and Motif)
  • Touchscreen-enabled structure drawing with ChemDoodle
  • Enhanced, visual citation mapping (i.e., references citing and cited by)
  • Enhanced view and navigation of full-text patents with PatentPak®
  • Detailed synthetic methods
  • Searchable NMR spectra
  • Extended experimental spectra coverage

PatentPak: Allows easy access to patents from over 40 patent offices with the ability to easily locate chemical substances within the patent and to reference equivalent patents in a familiar language.  

Biosequence Searching: Searches biological sequences from the patent literature and will expand to publicly available information in the future. 

MethodsNow Synthesis: Provides step-by-step procedures and protocols from journal articles and patents which you can load into an electronic lab notebook.  

Retrosynthesis Planner: Uses computer-aided synthetic design algorithm to generate possible retrosynthetic routes along with easy access to commercial availability and pricing information for reactants.  

ChemDoodle: Touch-friendly structure editor for drawing on phones and tablets. Structures drawn in ChemDoodle will be the same in CAS Draw, and vice versa

CAS SciFinder-n includes all the content of "classic" SciFinder along with new features and enhanced functionalities. "Classic" SciFinder will be discontinued sometime in 2022.

Do I need to make a SciFinder-n account?
If you already have a SciFinder account through the University of Delaware, then you can log into SciFinder-n with your current SciFinder login/password. If you've never used SciFinder at University of Delaware, you will need to register for an account.

What about my alerts and saved searches in Classic SciFinder?
You can import most SciFinder saved answer sets and Keep Me Posted alerts to SciFinder-n. Learn how to migrate answer sets and alerts.

Can I migrate my SciPlanner files to SciFinder-n?
Unfortunately, no. You will need to download your files to your own computer by selecting the Workspace tab in SciPlanner, then Export.

Using SciFinder-n

You must register for a SciFinder-n account before using the database for the first time. If you already have a "classic" SciFinder account, you are ready to log into SciFinder-n. To register, visit the SciFinder database page and follow the instructions. Note that you must use your UDEL email address to complete your registration.

Problems logging in?

Are you off campus?
Be sure you're going through the University of Delaware Library page to be authenticated from off campus. Use the Connect to Resource link on the SciFinder database page

Did you have an account at another institution?
You will need to register for a new account through our registration link (see SciFinder database page). Any saved searches, alerts, etc. must be recreated in your new account. You may also need to delete your browser's cookies so that your new login will work. 

Account deactivated? Password problem?
Contact CAS for help with username/password problems and deactivated accounts.
https://www.cas.org/contact

CAS provides training resources to help you get started with many of the key features of SciFinder-n.