Structure Databases
- ICSD Web This link opens in a new window(Inorganic Crystal Structure Database) - world’s largest database for fully identified inorganic crystal structures; produced by FIZ Karlsruhe and currently containing more than 193,000 crystal structures. Updates made twice a year (in spring and in fall) with data taken from scientific journals and other sources.
- Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) This link opens in a new windowWorld’s only comprehensive, up-to-date, and fully-curated knowledge base of organic and metal-organic small molecule crystal structures.
- Crystallography Open DatabaseOpen-access collection of crystal structures of organic, inorganic, metal-organics compounds and minerals, excluding biopolymers.
- Protein Data Bank (PDB)The Protein Data Bank (PDB) archive is the single worldwide repository of information about the 3D structures of large biological molecules, including proteins and nucleic acids. The PDB archive is available at no cost to users. The PDB archive is updated weekly.
- Nucleic Acid Knowledgebase (NAKB)NAKB provides search, report, statistics, atlas and visualization pages for all nucleic-acid containing experimentally determined 3D structures.
Books on topic
Basic Concepts of Crystallography by
Written by an experienced university teacher, this textbook is based on the author's lectures, and is designed to answer students' questions rather than delving into obscure details. The well-balanced approach gives precedence to a visual, intuitive understanding, with only as much math as is necessary. The author covers the topic of symmetry in crystals from basic elements to physical properties, backed by numerous clear-cut illustrations and easy-to-read crystallographic tables. The result is a compact and self-contained treatment suitable for crystallography courses in physics, chemistry, materials science and biology - irrespective of the academic background.
Call Number: QD911 .Z65 2011ISBN: 9783527330096
International Tables for Crystallography, Volume D by
International Tables for Crystallography Volume D is concerned with the influence of symmetry on the physical and tensor properties of crystals and on their structural phase transitions. This role is very important in many different disciplines of the science of materials such as crystallography, elasticity, solid-state physics, magnetism, optics, ferroelectricity and mineralogy, and Volume D deals with all these aspects in a unified way.
Call Number: Chem Library QD931 .I58x 2014ISBN: 9781118762295
