Why Background Information?
When researching any topic, it is helpful to look up encyclopedia entries or dictionaries that clarify unfamiliar technical terms or theories. Keep a list of important concepts, people, associations, policies, or other concepts related to the issue or educational strategy or theory you are researching. Armed with the context that this provides, you can then move to scholarly databases and conduct an effective search.
Searching for Background Information
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is the best place to start if looking for background information. It includes numerous educational dictionaries and encyclopedias. - CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowThe CQ Researcher Plus Archive explores a single “hot” issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.
Encyclopedia of educational philosophy and theory by Publication Date: 2020entries on topics of theoretical and practical interest in educational theory and philosophy by authoritative world scholars
Encyclopedia of Science Education by Publication Date: 2020A comprehensive reference work covering the range of methodologies, perspectives, foci, and cultures of this field of inquiry.
Encyclopedia of Special Education by Publication Date: 2014This critical reference includes entries addressing the full gamut of special-education research
Encyclopedia of Mathematics Education by Publication Date: 2014The Encyclopedia of Mathematics Education is a comprehensive reference text, covering every topic in the field.
