Streaming Video Databases
Sometimes the best way to teach or learn about a classroom technique or student behavior is to see it in action. Many of these streaming media databases contain classroom footage, often with expert commentary.
- Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary collection of more than 50,000 videos which includes the Education in Video collection: Video for new and experienced teachers to link abstract theories of education to real-world students and classrooms. The collection also includes the Video Journal of Counseling and Therapy: Presentations, lectures, and workshops from renowned counselors, psychologists, and practitioners - American History in Video This link opens in a new windowProvides 4,163 videos, with videos from new partners Newsreel Films and Documentary Educational Resources, additional PBS and The History Channel titles, archival footage from NASA and NARA, additional Universal Newsreel, and much more, equaling approximately 1,027 hours.
- Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new windowKanopy Streaming Video provides access to videos from educational film producers and distributors in a wide variety of subject areas. Includes classic films, PBS, indie films, world cinema and documentaries.
- Media Education Foundation Digital Collection This link opens in a new windowFilms in the Media Education Foundation (MEF) Collection encourage critical thinking about the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media with a special focus on representations of gender and race, and the effect these representations have on identity and culture.
- Videatives This link opens in a new windowA streaming service of short video clips demonstrating scenarios in child development and education. Browse videos by subjects or by child’s age. Includes “practice video” series which provides the viewer with a set of questions to help one analyze the significance of the clip, rather than providing a pre-set analysis.
