From Off Campus
Most Library online resources can be accessed from off campus by current UD faculty, staff, and students. When using links on these pages, you may be prompted for your UDelNetID and password. Please report any issues you encounter while accessing Library databases, e-journals, or e-books.
Google Scholar Tips
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a powerful tool for searching through education scholarship as well as policy briefs, and articles from professional associations and trade publications. While it is powerful, we recommend that you use this tool in conjunction with the other subject-specific databases for the best results.
Databases for Education Scholars
- Education Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education Source is the largest and most complete collection of full text journals in education research. It includes full text for more than 2000 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers. It also includes citations for over four million articles. - ERIC [EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ERIC is the premier U.S. national bibliographic database of education literature, covering published journal articles as well as non-periodical, document literature (such as master's theses and ERIC digests). ERIC documents published prior to 1966 are available on microfiche in the Microforms area on the lower level of the Library. - ERIC [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to articles in education journals and documents. Full-text available via GetIt! for UD Library subscribed titles. Also contains resources on training and development; library and information science. (Coverage: 1966 --)
- Educational Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. - Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides periodical and journal articles on education from preschool to college, and specialties such as technology, bilingual education, health education, testing and administration.
Many other disciplines are closely tied to the study of education. The following databases, while not specific to education, can be helpful for education researchers:
- APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database indexes articles in psychology journals, chapters in books, dissertations and other psychology resources. This database is an excellent choice for topics relating to educational psychology, counseling, special education, student motivation etc. - Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database indexes the world's scholarly literature in sociology and related disciplines. It is an excellent choice for researchers investigating social aspects of education. - Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database is an excellent choice for research on language and literacy topics such as reading instruction, language acquisition, phonological awareness and related topics. - Sports Medicine and Education Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database indexes the literature of physical education including peer-reviewed journals, reports, conference proceedings, trade magazines and articles from the popular press. This is an excellent database for topics such as motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, coaching and sport psychology. - OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new windowBooks, papers, and statistics released by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and development. Includes international educational statistics such as international student assessments, teachers' salaries, and education expenditure.
These databases cover materials in all subjects, including education, and can be excellent choices for exploring interdisciplinary topics.
- DELCATOnline catalog of the University of Delaware Library. Includes records for material on order and in process, as well as course reserves. Does not include periodical articles.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowThis database is an excellent choice for searching through older, high-quality journal literature.
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This is an excellent database for searching for professional publications for educators in addition to scholarly sources. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science allows for searching for cited authors or cited works. This database is an excellent choice for discovering seminal, highly cited works on a topic. - Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Like web of science, this citation and abstracting database covers all subjects and can help you to search by citation, or compare journals along different measures of quality.
- SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new windowSAGE Research Methods is a cross-disciplinary research methods tool. It provides full access to SAGE books, journal articles, reference works, case studies, sample datasets and videos about designing and conducting a research project, specific research methods, performing a literature review and writing about research results.
- JoVE Science Education This link opens in a new window
This streaming video collection is designed for educators and students to teach and learn key concepts and fundamental scientific techniques through video demonstrations. Subject-based collections cover a wide range of STEM subjects.
JoVE Video Journal is a companion to JoVE Science Education. It is a video methods journal consisting of video demonstrations and detailed text protocols in the physical and life sciences.
- Dissertations and Theses @ University of Delaware This link opens in a new window
This database is a subset of the ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global database. It contains only University of Delaware dissertations and theses. See below for detailed information about included dates and content coverage.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive curated collection of multi-disciplinary dissertations and theses from around the world, offering over 5 million citations and 3 million full-text works from thousands of universities.