Finding Published Tests and Measurements
The Library does not keep copies of testing instruments. However, we do have resources to help researchers to locate test descriptions and the contact information of test publishers. With this information, researchers can contact the publisher to learn the cost and availability of the tests, and how to obtain them.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Mental Measurements Yearbook: Comprehensive guide to 3,000+ contemporary testing instruments. Contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within diverse areas.
Tests in Print: Bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. Provides test purpose, publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive curated collection of multi-disciplinary dissertations and theses from around the world, offering over 5 million citations and 3 million full-text works from thousands of universities.
Finding Unpublished Tests and Measurements
Information about unpublished tests usually appears in journal articles. There are several ways to discover an unpublished measurement within the literature.
Directories:
The following directories can help researchers to locate unpublished tests:
- Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures: This valuable directory provides researchers and students easy access to recently developed experimental mental measures, tests, and surveys that are not commercially available. Call Number: (ANNEX) BF431 .G625 2008
- ETS Test Link: A free, online database of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices, most of which were created by authors outside the Educational Testing Service. It contains information about tests from the early 1900s to the present.
Searching the Literature:
If you cannot find a test that suits your needs either in the sources for published tests or in the directories listed above, you may be able to locate a test of interest by searching within the scholarly literature by using the following databases.
- APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science, mental health and related disciplines. (Coverage: 1806 --)
- ERIC [EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to articles in education journals and documents. Full-text available via GetIt! for UD Library subscribed titles. Also contains resources on training and development; library and information science. (Coverage: 1966 --)
- Education Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts as well as some full-text education journals. Covers all levels of education, from early childhood to higher education. Also includes a collection of videos that provide practical online teacher training that addresses the evolving landscape of education.
Online Resources for Finding Known Tests
- ETS Test LinkDatabase of educational tests using the ERIC subject headings. Most will need to be purchased.
- Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences - DELCATThis is the print copy of Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences housed in the University of Delaware Annex.
- Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences - Internet ArchiveThis digital version of Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences allows you to locate test titles along with publishing information. Some may require payment, many are available in libraries.
- USF Test and Measures Collection (University of South Florida)Indexed in this database are instruments, questionnaires, surveys, or tests.
Searching for Information on Testing
For books about educational tests and measures, search DELCAT Discovery. the following searches reliably group test-related books together:
- SU: Educational tests and measurements
- SU: Psychological tests
- SU: Aptitude tests
- SU: Intelligence tests
Subject headings are often best searched as phrases. To search for a phrase, enclose the phrase in quotation marks.
The following call numbers cover the areas of educational testing and measurement:
- LB1762 (Teaching Exams)
- LB3051 - LB3060 (Educational Tests and Measurements
Selected Books on Tests & Measurements
- Standards for Educational and Psychological Testing (2014)Call Number: LB3051 .A693 2014
- Educational Assessment: Tests and Measurement in the Age of AccountabilityCall Number: LB3051 .W679 2008
- Special educator's comprehensive guide to 301 diagnostic tests byCall Number: Reference LC4019 .P54x 2006