Library, Museums and Press - New Faculty Orientation

The Film & Video Collection supports instruction with an interdisciplinary collection of audiovisual content in physical and streaming formats. The physical collection is located on the lower level of Morris Library and serviced by the Student Multimedia Design Center (SMDC). The collection includes over 25,000 programs on DVD, Blu-ray, videogaming, legacy formats, and 70,000+ streaming. Contact the Film & Video Librarian with questions about the collection and to request new materials. The SMDC is available to help people using audiovisual materials in the Library. Individual and group viewing carrels, a gaming area, and a 40-seat viewing room are available. You can schedule the Viewing Room for class use and you can place a request to ensure physical media is available when your class needs it.

Please see our guide to streaming media to learn more about our collections: https://guides.lib.udel.edu/media

• Check to verify that streaming titles are available the semester that you need them. Most of our streaming media is licensed on a limited term basis. Contact the Film & Video Librarian with any questions.
• Physical formats are generally more reliable than streaming for classroom use, especially for longer run times. Test streaming before in-class use, and make sure to reserve physical media ahead of time.
• If the Library does not have access to the media you need, contact the Film & Video Librarian to see if we can get access. Please allow as much time as possible for this.
• For more information about our extensive collections see: https://library.udel.edu/filmandvideo/