Psychological & Brain Sciences

The Dana Foundation is a private philanthropic organization that supports brain research through grants and educates the public about the successes and potential of brain research. The BrainWeb is an index to resources related to brain diseases and disorders.

This is an online resource from the U.S. agency responsible for conducting and supporting research nationwide on mental illness and mental health, including studies of the brain, behavior, and mental health services(e.g., referrals and support groups). Includes public information, news and events, grants, general information, and research activity.

The author calls it his one-stop index for psychology, support, and mental health issues, resources, and people on the internet. Found here are blogs, forums, news postings, and staff of Psych Central topical contributions.

The CDC Mental Health Work Group's mission is to increase public awareness about mental illness. Its site has statistics as well as podcasts and blog postings on topics like postpartum depression and suicide prevention.

MedlinePlus provides A-Z health information for the public. For each condition or disorder, the site provides an overview of symptoms, treatment, and current research.

This is a free gateway to reliable consumer health and human services information web sites from U.S. government and non-profit organizations. The wide range of health information includes news releases, information pages, and personal health tools.

The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration's (SAMHSA) mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities. Supporting information is provided with grants, publications, data, and actions taken by topic.

This is a nonprofit advocacy group with a well-presented mutual help network along with support and program (e.g., education courses) links. This is a resource for both those who suffer from a mental disorder as well as their family members and friends.

The Psychologist Locator, is a service of the American Psychological Association Practice Organization.

The National Center for PTSD has seven national divisions that focus on post-traumatic stress disorder research. The website describe the symptoms of PTSD and summarizes available treatment options. The site is also the home of PILOTS, the Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress database.

This agency supports research for the prevention and treatment of drug dependency. The site feature DrugFacts, where you can find the health risks and acute effects of abusing illegal and prescription drugs.

The Psychological Services Center is a mental health clinic that serves as a training site for graduate-level students in the clinical psychology program at the University of Delaware.

A U.S. Federal Agency (under the Department of Health and Human Services) devoted to protecting public health and safety. The site includes information on infectious disease, food borne pathogens, environmental health, occupational safety and health, health promotion, injury prevention, and educational activities designed to improve the health of United States citizens, and much more.

The U.S. Department of Health & Human Services operates the NIH, CDC, SAMHSA, and the FDA, among other health-related organizations. The website contains disease-prevention guides for consumers.

The National Institutes of Health oversees biomedical research. The site provides funding information for grant-seekers and consumer health information organized into A-Z categories.

The National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine, a division of the NIH, supports research about complementary medicine. The site features Herbs at a Glance, a consumer fact-sheet on herbal remedies.
National Information Center on Health

Part of the National Library of Medicine, NICHSR is a center created to improve "..the collection, storage, analysis, retrieval, and dissemination of information on health services research, clinical practice guidelines, and on health care technology, including the assessment of such technology."