News Databases
- Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Recent global news content, as well as archives. Content from newspapers, newswires and news sites in full-text format. Provides large collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America and Australia. (Coverage: 1980 --)
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text information from news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Though not required, you have the option to create a personal account that will give you access to special features such as alerts, saved searches, folders, history, annotations and more.
Blogs
- APA Style Blog The APA Style Blog is the official companion to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Sixth Edition. It can be a profoundly useful tool for answering unique APA citation questions concerning issues that are not explicitly addressed in the Manual. It also features engaging discussions about writing and publishing in psychology.
- Everyday Research Methods BlogWritten by UD Professor of Psychology, Beth Morling
- In the News: Forensic Psychology, Criminology, and Psychology Law Operated by Dr. Karen Franklin, a forensic psychologist, this blog focuses on information and commentary specifically in the fields of forensic psychology, criminology, and legal matters in psychology.
- Media Psychology Blog Dr. Pamela Rutledge of the Media Psychology Research Center curates this blog that features articles addressing issues emerging from the increasing presence and penetration of social media and media technologies in our lives. It is primarily intended for a popular audience.
- Music Psychology Blog A rousing and fascinating look at the intersection of music and the psychology. Intended for a scholarly audience.
- PsyBlog PsyBlog was founded and is operated by Dr. Jeremy Dean of University College London. The site offers a thought-provoking, often humorous and entertaining exploration of research about how the mind works, akin to what one might read in a popular publication like Psychology Today. This site can be looked to for consistent and erudite food for thought, as opposed to rigorous scientific analysis.
- PsycCRITIQUES Blog PsycCRITIQUES Blog is a companion site to APA's PsycCRITIQUES database which publishes reviews of books and media related to psychology and behavioral sciences. It is edited by Dr. Danny Wedding of the California School of Professional Psychology. Librarians will likely find this resource useful for the purposes of collection development and outreach to psychology faculty, since it is full of very current information.
- Research Digest Operated by the British Psychological Society with a loose focus on behavioral psychology, this blog offers commentary on a diverse range of recent research in psychology.
- Sports Are 80% Mental This blog features cognitive science research on sports psychology and kinesiology. It’s operated by Dan Peterson, a coach rather than an academic, and is targeted toward other coaches and the general public.
Newsletters, Newsfeeds, and Online Magazines
- Latest Research News Association for Psychological Science news releases that emphasize psychology as a science.
- Mental Health - Alltop Aggregated feed of news from multiple sources.
- Monitor on Psychology A publication by the American Psychological Association.
- National Institute of Mental Health News Room This NIMH site reports on science news relating to mental health.
- The National Psychologist The National Psychologist is published six times a year. Its purpose is to keep psychologists informed about practice issues.
- Psychology Topics From the American Psychological Association
- PsycPORT: Psychology Newswire This APA news site publishes news articles on current psychological research.
- Science Daily - Mental Health News ScienceDaily is a general science news site that was established in 1995. It features many categories of science news, including news about psychology and mental health. ScienceDaily is best known for showcasing the top science news stories from the world’s leading universities and research organizations.