Research Guides: Psychological & Brain Sciences: Websites

General

American Psychological Association (APA) - APA Topics The American Psychological Association (APA) maintains this site with links to topics of interest to the general public. For each topic, there is a brief definition, and further links for What You Can Do, Getting Help, News, APA Monitor articles, and Books.
Association for Psychological Science

National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) Provides information for professionals and the general public. Provides links to mental health information (organized by topic or age/gender with links for finding help), research and funding information, NIMH Strategic Research Priorities, intramural research programs, audio and video clips, staff directories, statistics, clinical trials, and online and print publications.
National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) Provides guidance, advice, quality standards and information services for health, public health and social care. Also contains resources to help maximize use of evidence and guidance. See "Mental and Behavioral Conditions."

Social Psychology Network (SPN) - Community Psychology Links Provides links to general resources for Community Psychology, organizations, professional journals, and teaching resources.

GMU's Online Resources for Developmental Psychology - Topical Listing Provides links to websites on the developmental theories of Freud, Erikson, Piaget, Kohlberg, Vygotsky and other theorists, as well as to various schools of thought including but not limited to behavioral and evolutionary/sociobiological schools.
MedlinePlus - Child Development Provides links to information on physical, emotional/social and mental cognitive milestones from birth through young adulthood. Also provides links to latest news, diagnosis and tests, treatments and therapies, statistics and research, clinical trials, journal articles, and videos.

NIH Blueprint for Neuroscience Research The NIH Blueprint for Neuroscience Research is a cooperative effort among the 15 NIH Institutes, Centers and Offices that support neuroscience research. The site includes information on research and funding, resources and tools, training, K-12 education, the human connectome, and neurotherapeutics.
Neuroscience Information Framework (NIF) This site advances neuroscience research by providing access to public research data and tools worldwide through an open source, networked environment.
All Psychology Careers - Neuroscience Topics and Articles Includes links to descriptions, articles and studies in many areas of neuropsychology. Also provides career and education information and links to licensure sites.

The Personality Project Broad array of information on personality, including news, taxonomies, assessment and application, theories, links to academic and non-academic websites, organizations, and advice for students. Searchable and browsable.
Personality Theories Described as an 'electronic textbook' for undergrad and grad students, site provides brief biographies of theorists and synopses of major personality theories.

Medline Plus - Drugs, Herbs and Supplements Provides links to classes of drugs under 'Related Topics' and search bar and alphabetical listing of drugs by generic and brand names. Includes overviews, latest news, alternative therapies, nutrition, side effects, uses for specific conditions, clinical trials, and journal articles.

Social Psychology Network (SPN) Provides links to a a variety of social psychology sites covering news, major studies, graduate programs, journals, teaching resources, a career center, and student and faculty forums.

Substance Abuse and other Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) Provides links to information and resources on prevention of substance abuse and mental illness, mental health issues pertaining to military families, children's mental health, traumatic stress, health reform pertaining to mental health issues, public awareness and support, recovery support, statistics and outcomes information, news, and SAMHSA Strategic Initiatives.

National Library of Medicine World's largest biomedical library and serves as a national information service. Also, provides support for health information specialists. Use the search box in the upper right hand corner or click on one of the specific links.
Library of Congress The library is the research arm for Congress and is the world's largest library. A general search box is at the top of the home page. Use the "Researchers" link and then click on "Librarians" to see relevant resources and services for librarians.
New York Public Library (NYPL) - Best of the Web: Psychology Contains links to general psychology resources, as well as applied, clinical, cognitive, and social psychology. Also literature, theory and history, and organizations. (Archived)