What is a NAICS code?
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
Use the NAICS Search box to find NAICS codes for the industry of interest.
Some business databases, for example, Business Source Premier, can also be used to identify industry codes. Search the industry of interest by key word and open the results to see industry class associated with the report.
Industry Overview and Economic Census Data
The U.S. Census Bureau's Explore Census Data website is a good source of Economic Census data for 1997, 2002, 2007, and 2012. The Economic Census comes out every five years. It is the U.S. Government's official five-year measure of American business and the economy.
The Economic Census data are available. To obtain data, visit the 2017 Economic data release tables. Also, check out the 2012 Economic Census releases by state. Additional data can be obtained at the Economic Census by Year.
- IBISWorld Industry ReportsU.S. industry market research & industry risk ratings. Contains trends, statistics & analysis on market size, market share of competitors, & industry growth rates. Includes emerging industry trends as well as recent production performance.
- BCC researchIn-depth market research reports covering the technology, science, & healthcare sectors.
Click on the "Member Login" button in the top, right-hand corner of the screen and select the "IP AUTHENTICATE" option in the bottom, right-hand corner of the pop-up box - PitchbookIncludes company profiles, news & data for private equity, venture capital, & mergers & acquisitions research.
- StatistaData on media, business, finance, politics, & a wide variety of other areas of interest & markets.
- Marketscope AdvisorExtensive market commentary, independent investment analysis, real-time news & extensive data about a broad range of asset classes & sectors.
- Mergent OnlineSuite of information resources for in-depth business & financial research. Contains corporate information covering thousands of U.S. & foreign public companies. Includes access to Investext, which provides reports written by analysts at investment banks, brokerage houses, & consulting firms
Industry At A Glance Report
The Bureau of Labor Statistic produces reports on industries called Industry at A Glance. These reports have detailed industry data, including state, county, and metropolitan area data.
Databases for Industry Analysis and Research
- Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new window
Full-text company and industry intelligence on global corporations.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full-text for thousands of journals, covering all disciplines of business. (Coverage: Varies according to journal, some back to 1922.)
- Passport This link opens in a new window
A global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys and breaking news on industries, countries and consumers.
You must be a current University of Delaware student, faculty, or staff member to use this database. A valid UDNetID and password are required.
- IBISWorld Industry Reports This link opens in a new window
U.S. industry market research and industry risk ratings. Contains trends, statistics and analysis on market size, market share of competitors, and industry growth rates. Includes emerging industry trends as well as recent production performance.
- Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new windowSelect the First Research from middle of the page for Industry Research
- Marketscope Advisor This link opens in a new window
Extensive market commentary, independent investment analysis, real-time news and extensive data about a broad range of asset classes and sectors.
Occupational Outlook and Economic Indicators
The Occupational Outlook handbook provides sector analysis and projections for job growth. And the U.S. Census Bureau website (Census.gov) offers useful information related to business and industry.
Census Bureau Economic Statistics provides data on U.S Industries. A link to the annual, quarterly and survey reports on U.S. industries (including Historic Time Series covering the industries) are available at Economic Indicators portal. For Retail Industries, for instance, see the link to Advance Monthly Sales for Retail Trade and Food Services.