Resources for Researching Global Opportunity
- Euromonitor PassportStatistics on market segment and products across the globe
- globalEDGEThis a portal from the Center for International Business Education and Research, Michigan State University. Provides a rich source of information and data for international business and country studies.
- StatistaData on media, business, finance, politics, & a wide variety of other areas of interest & markets.
- Market Potential IndexThis a market potential ranking study covering about 87 countries. It provides guidance to the U.S. companies that plan to expand their markets internationally.
- Uniworld onlineContact information for headquarters, subsidiaries, branches, & executives of multinational companies with headquarters in over 200 Countries & 20,000 industries. Companies solely operating domestically are not included.
Additional Database Resources for Opportunity Research
Use the databases to research opportunities within an industry. Opportunity can be found in many ways. It could be about product improvement, trends and forecasts, channels of distributions and logistics for the product. It could also be about the weakness of a competitor as well. Use search terms such as (forecast or trends ) AND your product.
Example: Trends and iPhones
- ABI/INFORM This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text of business and financial journals, including essential scholarly journals and the most important trade journals.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text for thousands of journals, covering all disciplines of business. (Coverage: Varies according to journal, some back to 1922.)
- Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new window
Full-text company and industry intelligence on global corporations.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text information from news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Though not required, you have the option to create a personal account that will give you access to special features such as alerts, saved searches, folders, history, annotations and more.
Examination of Specific Company Operations for Opportunities
You can gain insight on how a company operates. Look at the important SEC filings from the company such as 10K Reports, Annual Reports, 10 Q Reports, etc. In the 10K Report, look at ITEM 7. MANAGEMENT'S DISCUSSION AND ANALYSIS OF FINANCIAL CONDITION AND RESULTS OF OPERATIONS and ITEM 1. BUSINESSES for details of how the company operates and its business segments. These sections will provide details on the operational decisions and strategies of the company.
- Statista This link opens in a new window
Data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest and markets.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Suite of information resources for in-depth business and financial research. Contains corporate information covering thousands of U.S. and foreign public companies. Includes access to Investext, which provides reports written by analysts at investment banks, brokerage houses, and consulting firms.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text information from news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Though not required, you have the option to create a personal account that will give you access to special features such as alerts, saved searches, folders, history, annotations and more.
- EDGAR Database of Corporate Information This link opens in a new window
EDGAR is the primary system for companies and others submitting documents under the Securities Act of 1933, the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the Trust Indenture Act of 1939, and the Investment Company Act of 1940. (Coverage: 1994 --)
Metropolitan Area Employment and Unemployment Summary
The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) issues Economic News Releases. This one relates to Metropolitan Area data on employment and unemployment. Mouse over the other tabs at the top of the BLS web page for information on other topics.
Income, Poverty, Health Coverage Report
Income, Poverty, and Health Insurance Coverage in the United States: 2019 (and previous years)
Do a Control F (Find Command) and search for a word to find the data you are looking for.
Example: Ctrl F and south to obtain data on the southern region.