Databases
Look for articles and reports on competition within the industry and among the major companies within the industry. Try searching for the company name or the industry code and the word competition. The term competitive analysis may be used as well.
Example: try searching in Business Source Premier
Mobile Food Services and competition
Hair salon and competition
IC "72251" and competition
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full-text for thousands of journals, covering all disciplines of business. (Coverage: Varies according to journal, some back to 1922.)
- ABI/INFORM This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of business and financial journals, including essential scholarly journals and the most important trade journals.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text information from news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Though not required, you have the option to create a personal account that will give you access to special features such as alerts, saved searches, folders, history, annotations and more.
- Passport This link opens in a new window
A global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys and breaking news on industries, countries and consumers.
You must be a current University of Delaware student, faculty, or staff member to use this database. A valid UDNetID and password are required.
Finding Lists of Competitors
- Reference Solutions This link opens in a new windowSelect US Business, Then Advanced Search. Generate list of competitors based on desired criteria.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowFrom Subject or Topic tab, Select Company Dossier. Generate list of competitors and profiles.
The County Business Patterns: Provides industry data including the number of establishments, employment size, and payroll, by geography.