Skip to main content

Genealogy: Library Catalogs & Finding Books

Use Library Catalogs to Find

Guides to research or guides to types of records

genealogy handbooks
naturalization records

State and local histories

maryland history

Resources available for places

south carolina pensions

Primary sources

georgia births

Abstracts / indexes to primary sources
Family histories or genealogies

talley family

Catalogs may not be good places to search for names of individuals.

From Off Campus

Most Library online resources can be accessed from off campus by current UD faculty, staff, and students. When using links on these pages, you may be prompted for your UDelNetID and password. Please report any issues you encounter while accessing Library databases, e-journals, or e-books.

From Off Campus If Not Affiliated With the University of Delaware

Resources marked with the UD logo are available off campus only to persons affiliated with the University of Delaware.

Note: having a UD Library public borrowers card is not the same as being affiliated with UD.

Persons who are not affiliated are welcome to come to the Library and use library resources, print or electronic.

For persons too far away to come to the UD Library, the best option is to find a library convenient to you that has these or similar electronic resources.

Related Collections at UD

Descriptions of Resources in the National Archives

Library Catalogs

DELCAT Discovery and WorldCat

WorldCat (worldcat.org) is a global catalog of library collections, containing more than 72,000 library catalogs. WorldCat is a freely available catalog.

DELCAT Discovery is a version of WorldCat that has been tailored to the UD Library collection. It is freely available. The default library collection is the UD Library; it's easy to change location to another zip code.

When WorldCat Libraries is listed, the item is not available at the UD Library.

FamilySearch Catalog

The FamilySearch (Family History Library) catalog has a special feature: search by place. An easy way to see the categories of records available.

Bonus: most of the books in the catalog are available in other libraries. The subject terms and features in the FamilySearch library often makes it easier to identify publications. Then use DELCAT Discovery (or Worldcat.org) to get the publication.

Subject Librarian

Rebecca Knight's picture
Rebecca Knight
Contact:
Associate librarian
Reference and Instructional Services Department
Morris Library, Room 117H
(302) 831-1730


Subjects: U.S. Government Information,
Delaware, census, family studies, RefWorks, APA style, and genealogy.


Education:
B.A., History. University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. 1973.
M.S., Library Science. University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. 1981.

Bibliographies

Digital Book Collections

Close This