Guides
Guide to Naturalization Records in the United States by Call Number: Reference CS 49 .S28 1997
Finding Published Records in Library Catalogs
- naturaliz* court* delaware
- naturalization records
- naturalization records Pennsylvania Philadelphia
Search for the name of the place which had a court with the authority to process naturalization applications, not the place where the person lived.
The asterisk * in the example is a truncation symbol. Using it at the end of a word allows you to retrieve variations of the word without having to type them all in. For example, naturalization* will find the words: naturalization and naturalizations. naturaliz* will find: naturalization; naturalizations, and naturalize.
Note:
Family History Library Catalog (FamilySearch) has a search by place feature.
Records Index
- Philadelphia Naturalization Records: An Index to Records of Aliens' Declarations of Intention and/or Oaths of Allegiance, 1789-1880, in the United States Supreme Court, United States District Court, Supreme Court of Pennsylvania, Quarter Sessions Court... byCall Number: Reference CS68 .P47 1982Also in Ancestry Library Edition Database.
Naturalization Records
Naturalization Petition (Second Paper). John Casey of Ireland. Delaware Public Archives, Digital Archives, Documents, in New Castle County Naturalizations.
Ancestry.com. New York, Petitions for Naturalization, 1794-1906 [database on-line]. National Archives at New York City; County Court of Kings County.
Prior to 1906, any "court of record" (municipal, county, state, or federal) could grant citizenship. In 1906, the federal government assumed responsibility for naturalization and citizenship.
For more information about naturalization, see
in The Source: A Guidebook to American Genealogy
Where to Find Records
- Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new windowSeveral important collections in the section: Immigration. The information from Delaware is taken from the original records at the Delaware Public Archives.
- Records on the Fold3 database
Fold 3 features digitized primary sources and user-added information. It specializes in collections of military records. It is a partner with the National Archives. Examples of military records: Revolutionary War Service Records (NARA M881), Military Cablegrams, Officer Experience Reports from the AEF (American Expeditionary Forces), and Civil War Pensions Index (NARA T289). Non-military records include Naturalization records. Free registration is needed to view free records. Some documents available only to paid subscribers. - Naturalization Records Database (Delaware Public Archives)Index to naturalization documents in several Record Groups in the holdings of the Delaware Public Archives. Selected New Castle County Naturalizations are available full text online. DPA has all the naturalizations from Delaware state courts. NOTE: included in Ancestry Library Edition.
- "New Castle County, Delaware, Naturalization records, 1826-1858"Lists published in the Maryland and Delaware Genealogist. Appeared in these issues: 18:2 (April 1977), pp. 38-39; 18:3 (July 1977), pp. 62-63; 18:4 (October 1977), pp. 84-85; 19:1 (January 1978), p. 14.
Genealogy Resources at the University of Delaware Library
Although not aimed at genealogy and family history, the collections of the University of Delaware Library (Morris Library) include materials useful to genealogists and family historians.
This Genealogy Research Guide is provided as a service for genealogists. It presents topics and resources to assist researchers.
The UD Library does not specialize in genealogy and does not have staff responsible for genealogy. Library staff cannot conduct research.
For questions about library resources and holdings, use the Ask the Library service.
For questions about getting research assistance, see the suggestions on the home page of this guide or on the topic/resources pages.