Use Library Catalogs to Find
Guides to research or guides to types of records
genealogy handbooks
naturalization records
State and local histories
maryland history
Resources available for places
south carolina pensions
Primary sources
georgia births
Abstracts / indexes to primary sources
Family histories or genealogies
talley family
Catalogs may not be good places to search for names of individuals.
Descriptions of Resources in the National Archives
- Selected Records From Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty-Land Warrant Application Files (M805)Descriptive pamphlet of National Archives microfilm.
Library Catalogs
- Delaware Library Catalog / Delaware LibrariesA combined catalog of public libraries and other libraries in Delaware, including the print materials in the Delaware Public Archives (DPA).
- FamilySearch Catalog (Family History Library catalog)Catalog of genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and digitized publications) made available by FamilySearch. Many items can be loaned to local Family History Centers around the world.
The Place Name search is especially helpful. Search for a city or town to find the categories of records available. Also search places of jurisdiction where records would be created, example: county seats.
Note: some items listed in the catalog are available at the UD Library and elsewhere. Specialized indexing in the Family History Library catalog may make items easier to find. - National Archives CatalogA catalog drawn from multiple sources, including the books in the National Archives library, online research guides, digitized records, and weblinks.
- Microfilm Catalog (National Archives)Catalog of more than 3,400 numbered microfilm collections filmed by the National Archives. You can search for microfilm by keyword, microfilm number, or Record Group number. Go to the Record Reproductions & Microfilm page, and click the Microfilm tab.
Collections of records filmed by the National Archives are identified with a letter and then numbers. The most frequently used letter is "M"Microfilm can be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan or purchased directly from National Archives. Some of the collections have been digitized by Ancestry.com, FamilySearch, Fold3, or other services. The files on non-National Archives sites often have different titles; the Identification numbers are the way to keep your research records accurate.
DELCAT Discovery and WorldCat
WorldCat (worldcat.org) is a global catalog of library collections, containing more than 72,000 library catalogs. WorldCat is a freely available catalog.
When WorldCat Libraries is listed, the item is not available at the UD Library.
FamilySearch Catalog
The FamilySearch (Family History Library) catalog has a special feature: search by place. An easy way to see the categories of records available.
Bonus: most of the books in the catalog are available in other libraries. The subject terms and features in the FamilySearch library often makes it easier to identify publications. Then use DELCAT Discovery (or Worldcat.org) to get the publication.
Genealogy Resources at the University of Delaware Library
Although not aimed at genealogy and family history, the collections of the University of Delaware Library (Morris Library) include materials useful to genealogists and family historians.
This Genealogy Research Guide is provided as a service for genealogists. It presents topics and resources to assist researchers.
The UD Library does not specialize in genealogy and does not have staff responsible for genealogy. Library staff cannot conduct research.
For questions about library resources and holdings, use the Ask the Library service.
For questions about getting research assistance, see the suggestions on the home page of this guide or on the topic/resources pages.
Bibliographies
- Delaware Genealogical Society JournalPublishes transcripts of original records. Published since 1980. The Tables of Contents and Indexes are online on the Delaware Genealogical Society website.
Call number: F 163 .D35x
Digital Book Collections
- Genealogy GophersFree searching and downloading of 80,000 digital genealogy books.
- Delaware Heritage CollectionDocuments, artwork, maps, newspapers, slides, photos, audio/video and other important items documenting Delaware’s rich history and culture are available online in the Delaware Heritage Collection.
- eBooks & PDFs (Delaware Public Archives)Full text of important Delaware publications, some of them out of print.
- Family History Books (FamilySearch)A collection of more than 200,000 digitized genealogy and family history publications from the archives of some of the most important family history libraries in the world. The collection includes family histories, county and local histories, genealogy magazines and how-to books, gazetteers, and medieval histories and pedigrees. Search for the title of a book, for surnames, or for topics, such as, "delaware genealogy."