Guides
Important:
Wills, probates, deeds, and land records are sometimes included in the "Court Records" section of research guides.
- How to Research the History of Your Home in New Castle County, DelawarePrepared by the New Castle County Department of Planning, Historic Preservation Section.
Also, print copy available in Morris Library - Special Collections, Folio NA7235 .D3 R47x 1995. - Cultural and Historical Resources Information System (CHRIS)A web-based geographic information mapping system developed to provide information on historic properties in Delaware.
Delaware Genealogical Research Guide by Call Number: F163 .D349 2020ISBN: 9780578584263Publication Date: 2020-01-09The Delaware Genealogical Research Guide contains detailed descriptions of how and where to find information about Delaware ancestors. Well organized and easy to use, the guide covers more than 20 types of records; offers suggestions for further research; and features a comprehensive compendium of more than 100 local, regional, and national record repositories and resources. In addition, discussions of Delaware's history and geography add important context and explain how competing claims to the land and protracted boundary disputes affect where records might be located. Meticulously compiled and fact-checked by members of the Delaware Genealogical Society, this guide is a valuable asset for experienced as well as novice researchers.
Finding Books
Search by Keyword
- deeds delaware
- land records maryland
Search by Subject Keywords (prefix su:)
- deeds pennsylvania chester
- land grants [name of state]
- land titles [name of state]
- land tenure [name of state]
- New Castle County delaware genealogy
- delaware history Colonial period sources
- Milford delaware history
- land tenure delaware sussex county
- dutch delaware river valley
Subject keyword retrieves only records that have those words in the subject description.
Use the prefix or go to the Advanced Search box.
Delaware or Not Delaware?
Colonial records for the Delaware area were created by the governing body at that time. The "three lower counties on the Delaware" have been governed by the Dutch, the Swedes, the Dutch, England under the proprietorship of James, the Duke of York, and England under the proprietorship of William Penn. Additionally,
due to boundary disputes, places may once have been in
in Delaware,
Pennsylvania, or Maryland.
"The Wedge" -- a small piece of land that has belonged to Pennsylvania, Maryland, and Delaware. Disputed until 1921. See article in Wikipedia.
Resources for Delaware
San Augustine, Texas, The register of deeds, 1943. Farm Security Administration - Office of War Information Photograph Collection (Library of Congress)
The resources in this section give important land/deed resources for Delaware researchers.
- Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new windowDelaware, Land Records, 1677-1947, includes: New Castle County, Kent County, Sussex County.
- New York Historical Manuscripts, Dutch [1648-1664]Also known as Delaware papers (Dutch Period). Prepared from the Colonial Manuscripts in the New York State Archives. Dutch with English translation. Also includes some papers from the Swedish period.
- Delaware Papers (English Period): A Collection of Documents Pertaining to the Regulation of Affairs on the Delaware, 1664-1682New York Historical Manuscripts: Dutch, Volumes XX–XXI, Delaware Papers (English Period) . . . 1664–1682.
- Land Survey Register, 1675-1679, West Side of Delaware River, from New Castle County, Delaware, into Bucks County, Pennsylvania byA transcript from a photostat of the original register in the Public Records, State Library, Harrisburg, PA. Available online through Hathi Trust.
- Some Records of Sussex County, Delaware byIncludes civil, court, church, and Bible records, such as land grants, civil suits, wills, administrations, and marriage records. Also included are vestry records of St. Peter's church for the early 1800's. Some Kent County records are included. Dates of coverage vary; most cover 1600s to 1775. The Index is available online. Available online through Hathi Trust.
- See Delaware Land and Property website (FamilySearch wiki)Includes sources not available at the University of Delaware Library.
Resources available in the Delaware Public Archives
Delaware Public Archives is the repository for official records (archival). Some records have been microfilmed. Many Delaware records are available in Ancestry.com and Ancestry Library Edition. Important collections in Ancestry include:
Delaware, Land Records, 1677-1947
Delaware Death Records, 1861-1933
Delaware, Marriage Records, 1806-1933
Delaware, Birth Records, 1800-1932
Delaware, Marriage Records, 1744-1912
Delaware, Wills and Probate Records, 1676-1971
Sussex County, Delaware Probate Records, 1680-1800
Delaware, Naturalization Records, 1796-1959
- Online Guide to the CollectionsSearch for groups of records.
Example searches:
Recorder of Deeds
wills new castle - Collection GatewayOnline information. The Collection has scanned copies of indexes and finding aids for 19 popular collections. Request originals from the Archives.
Genealogy Resources at the University of Delaware Library
Although not aimed at genealogy and family history, the collections of the University of Delaware Library (Morris Library) include materials useful to genealogists and family historians.
This Genealogy Research Guide is provided as a service for genealogists. It presents topics and resources to assist researchers.
The UD Library does not specialize in genealogy and does not have staff responsible for genealogy. Library staff cannot conduct research.
For questions about library resources and holdings, use the Ask the Library service.
For questions about getting research assistance, see the suggestions on the home page of this guide or on the topic/resources pages.
What Do These Words Mean?
Patents
The record of the passing of a land title from the government, or other proprietor, to the patentee/grantee. Also called "first-title" deed. After the first-title, any other changes in ownership are done by deeds and wills.
Grantor
Seller of the land, also called "direct."
Grantee
Buyer of the land, also called "indirect."
Typically, land records are indexed by Grantor and by Grantee.
Deed books
Copies of original documents. Usually arranged in chronological order. Many deed books have been microfilmed or scanned.
Plat
Survey map; legal description of the land.
State-Land States
States which granted their own lands.
13 original colonies (New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia)
Plus: Maine, Vermont, West Virginia, Kentucky, Tennessee, Texas, and Hawaii.
Public-Domain States
States where the federal government granted lands. Also called Public Land States.
General Land Office (GLO) Records Automation web site