Related Library Guide
Finding Vital Records
Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources by Call Number: Morris Library – Reference (Ref CS49 .R44 2004)Wonderful guide to genealogy resources. Describes genealogical resources in the 50 states and the District of Columbia. Use to identify types of resources and libraries, state archives, and historical and genealogical societies in various locations.
Guides to Finding Death Records
- United States Genealogy (familysearch wiki)Select topic or state.
- The “Secret” Codes on Death Certificates That Can Tell You How Your Ancestors Died (Family History Daily)International Classification of Diseases (ICD) codes are on official death certificates.
Search Examples for Library Catalogs
Search by Keywords
bible records delaware
marriage records delaware
register* births delaware
register* births delmarva
Search by Subject Keywords (prefix su:):
registers of births, etc. [name of state] [county]
marriage records [name of state]
African Americans Delaware Genealogy
Sussex County Delaware Genealogy
Search by Author
Virdin, Donald Odell
Donald Odell Virdin
Subject keyword retrieves only records that have those words in the subject description.
Use the prefix or go to the Advanced Search box.
The asterisk * is a truncation symbol. Using it at the end of a word allows you to retrieve variations of the word without having to type them all in.
Vital Records
Vital statistics records consist of births, marriages, and deaths (BMD). Records are sealed for a designated time period to insure the privacy of the individuals. Many records are sealed for 72 years.
Nationally, states did not require keeping vital statistics until the 1910s to 1920s.
Vital Records in Delaware
Delaware required recording of vital statistics in 1913, though towns, counties, and churches kept records before then. In Delaware, most historical vital records are kept at the Delaware Public Archives. Some of these records have been digitized.
- Delaware Vital Records, 1650-1974 (FamilySearch)A collection of various vital records from the Delaware Public Archives. The collection includes birth, marriage, death, bible, and cemetery records spanning various year ranges. This collection is being published as images become available.
- Delaware Vital Records (FamilySearch)Excellent guide.
- Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new windowAlso available in Delaware Public Libraries. See Genealogy LibGuide (Delaware Division of Libraries) "Where to find Ancestry.com"
- Office of Vital Statistics (Delaware)Newer records may only be available to family members.
Death Records
Where and When Did your Ancestor Die?
Death Certificates
Copies you obtain may be "informational" (research) or “certified.” Who is entitled to request a death certificate varies by state.
Death Registers
Often kept by towns and counties, prior to mandatory reporting.
Mortality Schedules (U.S. Census)
Taken in Census years: 1850-1880. Every 10 years, at the time when the Census was conducted. Note: they only cover the 12 months preceding the Census. Information: name of person, county and state where died. Age, sex, month of death, state of birth, cause of death, occupation. Note: not all states and years have been digitized.
- Ancestry Library Edition
Select Search, then select Card Catalog, type mortality in the title box - FamilySearch: Historical Record Collections (type mortality in the "Filter by collection name" box)
- On microfilm at National Archives and regional branches (May also be available at a library near you.)
Select Search, then select Card Catalog, type mortality in the title boxObituaries and Death Notices; Newspaper Articles
Newspapers.
Social Security Death Index
Created from Social Security Administration records. It is a file of persons with Social Security numbers whose deaths have been reported to the Social Security Administration.
- Ancestry Library Edition Search for a name in the Vital Records section and limit to Birth, Marriage, and Death records.
- Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) about the SSDI. (Ancestry)
- U.S. – Social Security (Cyndislist.com) Lists multiple sources for the SSDI.
Funeral, Memorial, and Prayer Cards
Not an official death record, but these often have date of death, date of burial and service, names of relatives and other helpful information.
Note: in newspapers, occasionally a death is a feature story and there may not be an obituary.
Searching Death Certificates and Other Death Records
- Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new windowSearch all collections or select a collection and search
Location: to search for records in a state, select "Search" on the top menu, then All categories. Select a state.
- United States Indexed Historical Records (FamilySearch)Select state. Search collection by ancestor name. Some collections are not indexed: they can only be browsed. Select "Show all collections;" then do a find in page search for the state.
- State ArchivesSearch in Google.
- State and county vital records officesGoogle the state or country.
- VitalChekYou can purchase vital records from this company.
Bible Records
- Maryland and Delaware Bible Records byIncludes 37 Maryland Bibles (50 families) and 17 Delaware Bibles (20 families).
- Delaware Genealogical Society JournalCall Number: F163 .D35xPublishes transcripts of original records. Published since 1980.
- Some Delaware Bible Records byContains information from the following family bibles: Anderson, Benjamin Baylis, Isaac Betts, Bunting, Daniel Burton, William Q. Carter, David Derickson, Goodwin-Cklark, Griffith, Hollingsworth, Josiah Hopkins, Liston A. Houston, James Johnson, Jesse Joseph, Lank, Lockard, Marshall-Swain, Marshall-Virden, Marvel, Maull, Mellott, Paynter-Marsh, James Penton, Warren Prettyman, Grenoble, Prettyman-Wilson, Short and Collins, Caleb Sipple, Sylvia Sipply, Harper, Reed, Vessels-Hazard, Webb, and West-Lafetra.
Genealogy Resources at the University of Delaware Library
Although not aimed at genealogy and family history, the collections of the University of Delaware Library (Morris Library) include materials useful to genealogists and family historians.
This Genealogy Research Guide is provided as a service for genealogists. It presents topics and resources to assist researchers.
The UD Library does not specialize in genealogy and does not have staff responsible for genealogy. Library staff cannot conduct research.
For questions about library resources and holdings, use the Ask the Library service.
For questions about getting research assistance, see the suggestions on the home page of this guide or on the topic/resources pages.
Specialized Delaware Resources
- The Delaware Historical and Genealogical Recall of Matilda Spicer Hart: Reprinted with a Full Name Index byA compilation of references to: marriages, deeds, wills, depositions, migrations, histories, Orphans Court records, and some series in the Delaware Public Archives. Includes abstracts from a few family bibles. Most of the categories have listings for all three counties but the wills section only covers Sussex county.
Originally published as four 4-page "volumes," this edition contains all four volumes and has a name index. - Laws of the State of DelawarePrior to 1906, divorce in the state of Delaware was a legislative action. A list of divorces is found in the volumes for each legislative session. Look under "Titles to Private Acts." From 1906 to 1975, divorces were the responsibility of Superior Court.
Delaware Vital Records Contacts
Vital Records include birth, marriages, death, and divorce. Records are sealed for a designated time period to insure the privacy of the individuals.
- Birth & Death Records (Office of Vital Statistics. Delaware)Contact for birth records newer than 72 years ago and for marriage and death records newer than 40 years. These records are closed and are available only to family members.