Resources Available at the UD Library
- Newspapers.com World Collection (Library Edition) This link opens in a new window
Newspapers.com Library Edition has 3,000+ newspapers from around the United States and beyond. Titles and coverage are not the same as a personal subscription to newspapers.com. Dates of coverage vary by newspaper. The site has a feature that allows readers to "clip articles." The database includes two Delaware newspapers:- Wilmingtonian and Delaware Advertiser (1826–1827)
- Union (1865)
Newspapers.com Library Edition has 3,000+ newspapers from around the United States and beyond. Titles and coverage are not the same as a personal subscription to newspapers.com. Dates of coverage vary by newspaper. The site has a feature that allows readers to "clip articles." The database includes two Delaware newspapers:- News Journal (Wilmington, Delaware) (Covers 1999 to present)Text only, no advertisements or graphics. This newspaper database is part of a collection called Global Newsstream (ProQuest).
Other libraries may have Global Newsstream but may not highlight the name News Journal. You would need to check the Publications list to make sure it is included.
- Newark Post (Newark, Delaware)A weekly paper published since 1910.
Other titles: Newark Post Weekly, Weekly Post; Post, and many others.- Microfilm S 55 (1910-2004)
- online in UDSpace (digitized images covering 1910 - present)
- online in Chronicling America (digitized images covering 1910-1922)
- newarkpostonline
- Delaware Newspapers Research GuideIncludes lists of the library's extensive collection of Delaware newspapers. Most are in microfilm format. There are three lists: by title, by place, and by date.
- Ancestry Library EditionSelect the category Newspapers in the Quick Links section. Or select the category Search Vitals. The Vitals category contains multiple sources, some full text and some indexes. Ancestry includes the collection: U.S., Obituary Collection, 1930-2015. Search results in the Obituary Collection can be misleading; Delaware in the place of death field retrieves Delaware as state, county, or place name.
- America’s Historical NewspapersDigital image collection of hundreds of historic newspapers. Coverage is 1690s-1922; issues available vary by title. You can search the entire collection or limit to a publication. Part of the World Newspaper Archive collection. Includes these Delaware papers:
Advance
American Watchman
Delaware and Eastern-Shore Advertiser
Delaware Gazette
Delaware Patriot
Delaware State Reporter
Delaware Statesman
Mirror of the Times
Monitor, or Wilmington Weekly Repository
Peninsular News and Advertiser
Pennsylvania Gazette
Philadelphia Inquirer 1860-1922 - Chronicling America (Historic American Newspapers) (Library of Congress)A collection of digitized historic American newspapers, 1789-1963. Freely available.
Also has "U.S. Newspaper Directory 1690 to present": a list of all known newspapers, their publishing histories, library locations and holdings. Select "Help" for information about the newspaper collection and for Search Tips. Select "Recommended Topics" for examples of interesting searches.
The University of Delaware Library has scanned selected newspapers and added them to Chronicling America. See the Delaware list.
Search Free Online Sources
- Obituary Daily TimesIndexes obituaries and identifies the exact date and the name of the newspaper. A volunteer project. Covers 1995 to present.
Available in Ancestry and in Ancestry Library Edition. - USGenWeb ObituaryIndexes obituaries and identifies the exact date and the name of the newspaper. A volunteer project. Covers public domain obituary indexes and obituaries; i.e., prior to 1929. More recent obituaries may be extracted.
- Legacy.comLegacy.com has a network of more than 1,500 newspapers and 3,500 funeral homes. Dates of coverage typically 2001 to present.
- Obituary Links PageFree Directory of Obituaries and Obituary Resources by State
Subscription Resources
These databases are available by subscription. Most offer a limited trial access. Many of these are available in libraries; check your local library.
- Ancestry.com
Note: the UD Library subscribes to Ancestry Library Edition, an abridged version of Ancestry.com. - GenealogyBankDigital collection of historical newspapers (1690 to 1980), obituaries (1977 to present) and historical obituaries, published works (1801 to 1900) and documents (1789 to 1980). A great site for obituaries. Also called America's Genealogy Bank.
- delawareonline.comWeb subscription. Note: obituaries do not require subscription.
- ObitsArchive | GenealogyBank · NewsBank · NewsLibraryText only; indicates when a photograph was included. Contact the newspaper directly for reprints of pictures. Includes section: How to Write an Obituary.
- Findmypast.com
Millions of newspaper pages from as long ago as 1710. Has 1,000 collections. Includes PERSI, an index to hundreds of local genealogy periodicals. See Guide to using PERSI
Wilmington Public Library
- Wilmington Public Library Obituary SearchesThe Wilmington Library has microfilm of the local newspapers going back to 1871. The library will search any of the newspapers for obituaries or other articles back to 1871 for a $5 search/copy fee.
Interlibrary Loan Service
If your library does not have the resources you need, use the Interlibrary Loan service to get the article you need.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a library to library resource sharing network. Libraries borrow and lend materials for their library users.
Because this is a library to library service, you should submit your request at your library, which for many people is their public library. Fill out a request, giving all the information you know. That library will contact a library that has the newspaper you need, which might be the UD library.
In your Interlibrary Loan request, include your person's name, the date (at least within a week), the page number or section:
Depending on staffing and policies, the library that is contacted may send the reel of microfilm or may copy the article and send it to you.
If you do not have specific information:
The library that is contacted might send your library the reel of microfilm matching your approximate dates.
Social Security Death Index
Social Security Death Index (SSDI) is a database of people whose deaths were reported to the Social Security Administration beginning about 1962.
Note: federal restrictions enacted in March 2014 required that newly reported deaths not be made available in the public version of the Social Security Death Index for three years after the individual's death.
- Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new window
Access to a number of genealogical and historical resources, including images of the decennial U.S. census from 1790-1930.
- Social Security Death Index (SSDI) (FamilySearch)Note: latest 3 years are not available.
Contacts for "Lookups"
Free:
There are volunteers who will find obituaries or other articles for you. The more information you have, the better. Without a death date, it is unlikely that anyone can locate an obituary for you.
- Request a Free Lookup from a Category (Ancestral Findings)Select option for Resources
Fee:
- Wilmington Public Library Obituary SearchesThe Wilmington Library has microfilm of the local newspapers going back to 1871. The library will search any of the newspapers for obituaries or other articles back to 1871 for a $5 search/copy fee.
Genealogical societies in the area you are searching. They may have lists of local volunteers or professional researchers.
Genealogy Resources at the University of Delaware Library
Although not aimed at genealogy and family history, the collections of the University of Delaware Library (Morris Library) include materials useful to genealogists and family historians.
This Genealogy Research Guide is provided as a service for genealogists. It presents topics and resources to assist researchers.
The UD Library does not specialize in genealogy and does not have staff responsible for genealogy. Library staff cannot conduct research.
For questions about library resources and holdings, use the Ask the Library service.
For questions about getting research assistance, see the suggestions on the home page of this guide or on the topic/resources pages.