Skip to main content

Genealogy: Census Schedules: Nonpopulation

Related Research Guides

Book Resources

Other Nonpopulation Censuses

There are schedules and counts that are even less known:

Military, e.g., Veterans, Pensioners, 1890 Census of Union Veterans and Widows of the Civil War

Business Schedules

Delaware Census Guide

Tutorial

Census Statistics and Reports

Nonpopulation Schedules Information

1850, 1860, 1870, and 1880, Enumerators were instructed to collect information beyond the population schedules.

These schedules cover the 12 months prior to the time the decennial census was taken.

  • Agricultural
  • Mortality
  • Manufacturing
  • Social Statistics Schedules (1850-1870)

1880

Social schedule was added. Covers the 12 months prior to the time the census was taken

Note: Social statistics (no names included) are available for 1850, 1860, 1870

1850 and 1860

Slave schedules (slave owners) were collected with the population census. (Includes names of slave owners.)

Agriculture

For each farm: name of owner or manager, number of improved and unimproved acres, and the cash value of the farm, farming machinery, livestock, animals slaughtered during the past year, and "homemade manufactures." The schedules also indicate the number of horses, mules, "milch cows," working oxen, other cattle, sheep, and swine owned by the farmer. The amount of oats, rice, tobacco, cotton, wool, peas and beans, Irish potatoes, sweet potatoes, barley, buckwheat, orchard products, wine, butter, cheese, hay, clover seed, other grass seeds, hops, hemp, flax, flaxseed, silk cocoons, maple sugar, cane sugar, molasses, and beeswax and honey produced during the preceding year is also noted. The 1880 schedules provide additional details, such as the amount of acreage used for each kind of crop, the number of poultry, and the number of eggs produced. National Archives webpage

Not included:

1850: small farms (less than $100 of products)

1870: small farms (less than 3 acres and $500 of products)

Availability of Delaware Schedules

 

  UD DPA FHL Archives Ancestry
Agriculture, 1850 - 1880  

UD Library

Delaware Public Archives

FHL

National Archives

Industry / Manufacturing

Name of the manufacturer; type of business or product; the amount of capital invested; the quantities, kinds, and value of raw materials used; the quantities, kinds, and value of product produced annually; the kind of power or machinery used; the number of men and women employed; and the average monthly cost of male and female labor.  (Also called Industrial Schedules)

Not included: Manufacturing operations producing less than $500 worth of goods.

Mortality Schedules

Name of person who died; age, sex, color, married or widowed, birthplace, month of death, occupation, and cause of death. These schedules cover the 12 months prior to the time the decennial census was taken.

Mortality Schedules: Examples

Extract of 1850 Mortality Schedule (Julia Talley, New Castle County, DE)

free from FamilySearch - Mortality Schedule collection, 1850

 

 

Description From FamilySearch

 

 

Description from Ancestry (note: for Delaware, only index is available)

 

 

Slave Schedules

Slave schedules are lists of slave owners. Slaves are represented by tallies. These schedules were conducted in 1850 and 1860 as part of the Census of Population.

  • City, town, or sub district of slave owner
  • Name of slave owner
  • Number of slaves owned
  • Age, sex, color
  • Fugitive from state?
  • Number of slaves manumitted (released from slavery)
  • Deaf, dumb (mute), blind, insane, or idiotic?

States and territories:

Slave schedules were taken for Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, New Jersey, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah Territory, Virginia.

Note: 1860 schedule did not include New Jersey.

Occasionally, the enumerator listed the first names of individual slaves.

Slave Schedules Example

1850 Marshall County, Tennessee

Social Statistics Schedules

Social Statistics Schedules differ from the other nonpopulation censuses.

1850 through 1870 -- statistics only

Social statistics schedules provide information about the ancestor's community. In 1850 through 1870, these schedules indicate for each political subdivision the value of real estate; annual taxes; number of schools, teachers, and pupils; number and type of libraries and the number of volumes they have; name, type, and circulation of newspapers; the types of church denominations, the number of people each church can seat, and the value of their property; the number of native and foreign-born paupers and the cost of supporting them; the number of native and foreign-born criminals convicted and in prison; and the average wages paid to farm hands, day laborers, carpenters, and female domestics.

Note that these schedules provide only statistical data, not information about specific individuals. National Archives webpage

1880 schedules

Delinquent, Defective, and Dependent classes (DDD) -- names of people in specified categories.

  • Insane
  • Idiots
  • Deaf-mutes
  • Blind
  • Paupers and Indigent persons
  • Homeless children
  • Prisoners

1880 Defective, Dependent, and Delinquent (DDD) Classes Examples

Extract of 1880 Delinquent, Defective, and Dependent classes Census Schedule (Elizabeth Anderson, Blockley Alms House, Philadelphia, PA)

From Ancestry Library Edition

blind

 

Description from Ancestry (Delaware schedules not included)

 

Headings for DDD schedule

1880 Census of Population

Information in the 1880 Census population schedule indicates when an individual is listed on a Delinquent, Defective, and Dependent classes (DDD) schedule.

Information in the DDD schedule identifies location of the individual in the population schedules (called schedule 1).

 

Extract of column headings on 1880 blank form

 

Extract of column headings on the DDD schedule

Workshop

Originally created for the Library Workshop: Advanced Census for Genealogy Research, Tuesday, November 12, 2013

Created by Rebecca Knight, Associate Librarian, and Linda Stein, Librarian, of the Library Reference and Instructional Services Department.

Close This