Finding Books
Search by Keyword:
- tax assessment* delaware
Search by Subject Keywords (prefix su:):
- "tax collection" Delaware
- taxation [name of state] [name of county]
- Delaware census 1782
- Delaware census 1790
Subject keyword retrieves only records that have those words in the subject description.
Use the prefix or go to the Advanced Search box.
The asterisk * in the example is a truncation symbol. Using it at the end of a word allows you to retrieve variations of the word without having to type them all in.
Descriptive Pamphlet for Internal Revenue Records for Delaware
- Descriptive Pamphlet: Internal Revenue Assessment Lists for Delaware, 1862-1866.(National Archives)Description of Internal Revenue Assessment Lists for Delaware, 1862-1866. National Archives, microfilm M759.
Tax Lists
Originals of Delaware tax assessments lists are at the Delaware Public Archives.
- Kent County Assessments, 1727-1850 (microfilm)Lists the names of individuals assessed and the amounts taxable. Descriptive content
varies. Arranged chronologically, subdivided alphabetically by names of the hundreds:
Duck Creek, Little Creek, Mispillion (divided in 1830, creating Milford), Murderkill, and
St. Jones (identified as Dover in 1823). No index. Originals are at the Delaware Public Archives, Record Group # RG 3535. 
Free African Americans of Maryland and Delaware: From the Colonial Period to 1810 by The taxables list is a transcription of RG 3535, on microfilm at the Delaware Public Archives (Hall of Records). Information also available on website.- Delaware 1782 Tax Assessment and Census Lists byThis book lists householders in Delaware from the remaining lists of the 1782 state census. It also lists tax payers from 1782 tax assessments and the amount they were assessed. Provides an alphabetical index by name and lists of Soundex codes and cross references. The original records are available at the Delaware Public Archives. Note: this publication replaces an earlier publication The Reconstructed Delaware State Census of 1782, 1983 by Harold Bell Hancock.
A significant aspect to this compilation is that it provides list of persons relatively close to the missing Delaware 1790 federal census schedules. - Reconstructed 1790 Census of Delaware byA list of tax payers from 1790 or the closest year available. Lists around 8,000 persons. Arrangement is by country, then by hundred. There is no index. Note: The 1790 federal statistics list 11,783 free white males, age 16 and older, in Delaware.
- Internal Revenue Assessment Lists for Delaware, 1862-1866 (microfilm)Tax assessment lists for Delaware. Eight rolls of microfilm. Originals at National Archives, Record Group 58: Records of the Internal Revenue Service (M759). Included in "U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918" in Ancestry Library Edition.
Genealogy Resources at the University of Delaware Library
Although not aimed at genealogy and family history, the collections of the University of Delaware Library (Morris Library) include materials useful to genealogists and family historians.
This Genealogy Research Guide is provided as a service for genealogists. It presents topics and resources to assist researchers.
The UD Library does not specialize in genealogy and does not have staff responsible for genealogy. Library staff cannot conduct research.
For questions about library resources and holdings, use the Ask the Library service.
For questions about getting research assistance, see the suggestions on the home page of this guide or on the topic/resources pages.
U.S. Direct Tax Lists, 1798
1798 was the first direct tax collected by the federal government. The lists are available in microfilm at the National Archives.
- Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new windowSee Pennsylvania, U.S. Direct Tax Lists, 1798.
