Skip to main content

Genealogy: Databases

Delaware Public Libraries

Do you have a Delaware public library card?

If you do, you have free access to additional genealogy books and databases.

Specialized Primary Source Databases

History: Find Articles Using History Databases

Digital Book Collections

Databases

 Indicates a site that is entirely or predominantly fee-based.

Primary Source Databases

Historical Newspapers and Newspaper Databases


Also see these UD Library listings:

databases for newspapers

e-journals for newspapers

Featured Resource: Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps

Sanborn Fire Insurance Map from Newark, New Castle County, Delaware. Sep 1891. Sheet 2. (Library of Congress) (http://hdl.loc.gov/loc.gmd/g3834nm.g012211891List of Delaware maps

A collection of maps which depict the commercial, industrial, and residential sections of some twelve thousand cities and towns in the United States, Canada, and Mexico and date from 1867 to the mid 1960s. The maps were used to gauge the fire risks for urban structures and display detailed information about buildings, including the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction materials, the function of structures, street names, and house and block numbers. The maps were hand-drawn and colored. These were published by the Sanborn Map Company, the primary American publisher of fire insurance maps.

Subject Librarian

Rebecca Knight's picture
Rebecca Knight
Contact:
Associate librarian
Reference and Instructional Services Department
Morris Library, Room 117H
(302) 831-1730


Subjects: U.S. Government Information,
Delaware, census, family studies, RefWorks, APA style, and genealogy.


Education:
B.A., History. University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. 1973.
M.S., Library Science. University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. 1981.

Additional Resources

Search for Digitized Books

Many older publications are available full text in repositories and collections, such as, Google Books, Internet Archives, and Hathi Trust. Search for the publication in Google Books and in Google or your favorite search engine.

Close This